Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books on my Fall TBR-List

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week, you make a list of ten books surrounding a certain topic. This week’s topic is the Top 10 books on my Fall To Be Read list.

gone girl5297the naturals18667769cursed

  1. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
    I have wanted to pick this up for quite a while now, and with the movie coming out I need to do it soon! A wife going missing, her husband being blamed. Intriguing…
  2. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde
    Okay, so I am scared of reading classics. Why, you ask? Well, my first -and only- attempt to read a classic was to read The Great Gatsby, which I absolutely loathed. Ever since then I haven’t been motivated to try again. But this story sounds so amazing, and again I would like to read this book before I see the movie.
  3. The Naturals (The Naturals #1) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
    Fall marks the start of the new season of Criminal Minds -probably my favorite TV show ever- and that always gets me into murder-mystery stories. This is what I got from the synopsis of The Naturals: a killer is on the loose, and “gifted” teenagers need to help the FBI to catch him. It’s a crime story with paranormal abilities mixed in. Sounds great to me.
  4. The Merciless by Danielle Vega
    The tagline of this book is: “Forgive us father, for we have sinned” . I believe it’s about a group of teenage girls that think another girl is possessed so they perform an exorcism on her. Definitely going on my fall TBR!
  5. Cursed (Voodoo Nights #1) by Lizzy Ford
    A girl whose sister disappeared years ago, a curse, a serial killer, a skeleton key and voodoo, all set in New Orleans. I’m really curious about this one. I’ve been really interested in New Orleans lately -oh, how I would love to visit- and that combined with serial killers and voodoo? Fascinating!

falling kingdomsprince of thornsmidnight thiefthe archivedsweet evil

  1. Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms #1) by Morgan Rhodes
    I’ve heard so many people raving about this young adult fantasy story. To be honest, I don’t really know what it’s about. I only know that it is fantasy -love that- and that so many people recommend it.
  2. Prince of Thorns (The Broken Empire #1) by Mark Lawrence
    Another fantasy story! The synopsis says it’s about a guy, Jorg, who watched his mother and brother get killed when he was nine. When he was 13, he led a band of bloodthirsty thugs. By 15, he intends to be king. Again, I’ve read great reviews about it and I’m curious to see what I think about it.
  3. Midnight Thief (Midnight Thief #1) by Livia Blackburne
    Also a young adult fantasy read. Do you see a trend here? This is about a thief, Kyra, who’s offered a lucrative job by the Assassins Guild, and a palace knight on a mission. If you didn’t already know, I am not only a huge fan of fantasy but I am also in love with stories and movies about thieves, assassins, art forgers/thieves and magicians. If only I had the talent, I guess.
  4. The Archived (The Archived #1) by Victoria Schwab
    I have heard amazing reviews for The Archived on Booktube and as always that piqued my interest. This is the first sentence of the synopsis on Goodreads: “Imagine a place where the dead rest on shelves like books.”. That sounds like it’s going to be an amazing -and original- story!
  5. Sweet Evil (The Sweet Trilogy #1) by Wendy Higgins
    This is a young adult story about the sons and daughters of fallen angels, whose lives depend on being bad influences. I have read some angel-themed books and what I often dislike about them is the way angels are portrayed. In my mind, angels are supposed to be warriors: fierce, and in some ways, terrifying -I am not religious by the way and I do not mean to offend anyone who is by these statements. So we’ll see whether I am going to like this book. And if you’re thinking: why is it on your TBR, if you’re not sure about it? Well, when an angel story is done right, in my opinion of course, they can be so mind blowing! Also, a lot of people whose opinions on books I trust have given this good ratings. So I’ll give it a go!

Those are my Top 10 book on my fall to-be-read list! Apparently, I tend to gravitate towards crime/serial killer and fantasy stories during the colder months.

As a last bonus, I would like to add an 11th book (against the rules of a Top 10, I know, but what can you do). I am adding this as an extra because I am not sure whether I really want to read it. The book I’m talking about is Dracula by Bram Stoker. Again, I haven’t really had great experiences with classics. So let me know in the comments, should I read it? Did you enjoy it?

This was my Top Ten Tuesday for this week, hope you enjoyed it!

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books on my Fall TBR-List

  1. Prince of Thorns is soooo goooood!! I picked up King of Thorns the next day and read it in one day. Then I had to wait an agonizing month for the third book ^^”
    Ahem. Anayway, Picture of Dorian Gray is one of my favorite classics! And by the way, I didn’t like Gatsby either. I didn’t understand any of the characters’ motivations and was often bored.
    I want to read Midnight Thief too! Assassins and thieves – there’s not much more this girl can ask for πŸ˜‰
    Thanks so much for sharing and for stopping by!

    Like

    • I hope I will love Prince of Thorns as well. It’s always such a struggle if you have to wait months to a year for the next book! 😦
      To be honest, I’m really happy to hear that I’m not the only one that didn’t like Gatsby! Almost everyone seems to love it… But The Picture of Dorian Gray is much more enjoyable then?

      Aah, you are very similar to me then: assassins and thieves always seem to make for an amazing story! πŸ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

