On reading slumps and finding time

Today, I am talking about something a little different than my previous posts, namely reading slumps. If you don’t know what a reading slump is, it’s a period where you suddenly don’t feel like reading anymore. You don’t feel motivated to pick up a book, and if you have the story doesn’t seem to grip you. You can’t seem to get into the story and don’t feel like finishing it. For a book blogger/booktuber, reading slumps are the worst. It makes me feel guilty, because I want to be reading and reviewing books for my blog. But I shouldn’t feel guilty about it because there is nothing I can do to change it.

Right now, my reading slump is created by two things:
The first one is that I started university again this week. I haven’t seen most of my friends in 3 months so right now we are catching up and spending time together, which to me trumps reading. Finding time to read in between meeting my friends and going to classes is hard and I need to get back in the rhythm again. Once I’m back in it, I’ll find the time again, don’t worry! The second reason is probably that I’m reading several books at once. Or is that a consequence of a reading slump and not a cause? I don’t know. Anyway, I’m having trouble sticking to a story and getting involved in it so I’m reading more than one book at a time which I normally never do.

While I hate being in a reading slump, there’s really not much I can do about it. And I refuse to feel guilty about it, it happens to everyone. So I apologize if the reviews in the next week will slow down, I just haven’t been reading as much. I’m hoping this slump only lasts a week or so until I get back in the rhythm of class and can combine my social life with a blogging life. I will still be posting blog posts, I’m not taking a break from that.

Do you have any tips for getting out of a reading slump? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

