Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books That Were Hard For Me To Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week, you make a list of ten books surrounding a certain topic. This week’s topic is the Top 10 books that were hard for me to read. Please note that there are some books in this list that I have loved: my reasons for them being hard to read for me may not always be negative ones.

city of bones the great gatsby tirza fifty shades of grey the knife of never letting go

These 5 books, I didn’t really enjoy all that much/at all. So if you love any of these books, I’m sorry. We can’t all like the same things though.

  1. The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare
    I chose the cover of City of Bones for this one but to be honest, this topic is applicable to the entire part of the series I’ve read. I thought the first one was okay and continued to read up until the fourth book. After that, I just couldn’t do it anymore. For me, the books got worse with every new one and I just didn’t care about the characters at all anymore. I’m sorry if I’ve offended anyone by saying this because I know so many people love this series. It just wasn’t for me. In my opinion, it would have been better as a trilogy. I’m not really planning on reading the last two books at this point.
  2. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
    Just hearing the title of this book already makes me angry. Because I haven’t read (m)any classics at all, I figured I would start by reading one everyone seems to love -and let’s be honest, I also chose it because it’s a short one. And I hated it. My copy is only like 114 pages, which would normally take me less than 2-3 hours to read. It took me 3 days. I just couldn’t do it and here’s why: NOTHING HAPPENS. Rant over, sorry.
  3. Tirza by Arnon Grunberg
    Tirza is a Dutch book that I had to read during high school. That’s already a big reason it was hard to read right there: don’t force me to read anything. Often, it takes the fun out of it for me. Another reason is that this book just confused the hell out of me. I couldn’t follow the story at all while reading it which was incredibly annoying. And finally, the cover, really? You can’t read that in public.
  4. Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades #1) by E.L. James
    Don’t have much to say about this one, only this: I love the new adult genre and I read a lot of it. SM is just not my thing at all.
  5. The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking #1) by Patrick Ness
    What made it hard for me to read The Knife of Never Letting Go is the writing. Appropriately named the Chaos Walking trilogy, it was just too chaotic for me. Since you read the main character’s thoughts and the dog’s and everything else that’s alive, it was just too much for me. I couldn’t really connect to the characters.

wedding night uglies the passage living dead girl the lord of the rings

Now, for these books: I didn’t enjoy Wedding Night, thought Uglies was okay and really liked the last three. So there’s a mixture of both here.

  1. Wedding Night by Sophie Kinsella
    This actually pains me to say, but I really didn’t like this book. I usually love everything Sophie Kinsella writes, but I just couldn’t connect to this one. The main character was so strange! I mean in the I-make-impulsive-and-totally-ridiculous-decisions way. I actually couldn’t even finish this book. I would recommend almost every single one of her other books since they are great, but not this one.
  2. Uglies (Uglies #1) by Scott Westerfeld
    I think the reason why this was hard for me is because of the hype surrounding this book. So many people love this book and rave about it. I didn’t think it was that special at all. I’ve read quite a few dystopians, and this isn’t one of the best ones, in my opinion. The concept is very interesting and it makes you think about the standards of our society but I just didn’t enjoy it all that much. And because I was expecting greatness, it took a long time for me to finish it.
  3. The Passage (The Passage #1) by Justin Cronin
    The Passage is the first book on this list that I really liked. I believe I gave it 4 stars on Goodreads. The story is really captivating and interesting and so many things happen but it is definitely not an easy book to read. The first cause is the amount of characters. There are so many of them, and a lot of them have perspectives. After a while, it’s hard to connect with one -or to even remember who it is. And the second cause is that it is huge. I got this book from the library and honestly its massive size intimidated me. That’s probably why I haven’t read the sequel yet. But it is a very good story and you should definitely pick it up!
  4. Living Dead Girl by Elizabeth Scott
    Another book that I really enjoyed reading. Living Dead Girl is about a girl, Alice, who was abducted when she was 10. Now she’s 15 and we see her life with Ray, her kidnapper. It’s an amazing book but a terrible story, if you know what I mean. Alice is so utterly hopeless and broken. We know that kidnappings happen every day but we never actually think about it until it’s someone we know. This book makes you think about it, and it just is so heartbreaking.
  5. The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien
    This is one of my all-time favorite trilogies. I am a big fan of high fantasy so this is right up my alley. The first time I read this, I had already seen the movies yet it was still hard for me, mainly because of the language. Since it was written in the 1950s, the language is very different than it is now. For someone whose native language is not English, like me, it can be quite hard to read. I re-read them almost every year now and it’s become less hard for me over the years but I still can’ read them as quickly as other books.

This was my Top 10 for this week. I hope you enjoyed it and let me know in the comments below which books were hard for you to read or whether you (dis)agree with any of my picks!

Leave a Reply

