Top Ten Tuesday: Books For Readers Who Like Character Driven Novels

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week, you make a list of ten books surrounding a certain topic. This week’s topic is the Top 10 books that are character-driven. Here’s my top 10.

written in red 12000020 perf5.250x8.000.indd winger the miseducation

  1. Written in Red (The Others #1) by Anne Bishop
    I don’t think I will ever make a top-list concerning books that doesn’t include this one. It’s an urban fantasy story and while it has a lot of action moments and scenes, this series focuses mostly on the characters. As for the plot all you need to know is that in this world The Others control everything: they hold the natural resources, the land and everything else humans need to survive. Courtyards are made within big cities and The Others live in them -no human may enter without permission. The story follows Meg Corbyn, who is a blood prophet on the run, when she stumbles across the Lakeside Courtyard where HLDNA (Human Law Does Not Apply). It’s truly an amazing read.
  2. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
    This story does not really have a plot I can explain to you. It’s just about two boys, Aristotle and Dante, who grow up. And we get to read about their lives as well as their families’ lives. Ari and Dante is most likely going to be featured in my Top Books of 2014, because it blew me away. My advice: don’t look up too much about the story before reading it. Just do it.
  3. The Avery Shaw Experiment by Kelly Oram
    The Avery Shaw Experiment is one of the cutest young adult romance books I’ve read. Romance books tend to be more character driven than action ones, and in this one you get to see a young girl, Avery, grow. If I could use three words to describe it: adorably, fluffy, Grayson.
  4. Winger (Winger #1) by Andrew Smith
    Winger is about a 14-year-old boy called Ryan Dean who goes to a boarding school where he’s not exactly Mr. Popular and where he plays rugby. This book made me laugh out loud several times; and then broke my heart and crushed my spirit in the last 20 pages or so.
  5. The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth
    Before you pick this up, I need to give you a little warning: this is a slow-paced book. And there’s nothing wrong with that, in fact I tend to love slow-paced books. You do need to be aware of if beforehand though. This novel is about a girl, Cameron, who has to move in with her conservative aunt Ruth when her parents die. The synopsis says: “When Cameron Post’s parents die suddenly in a car crash, her shocking first thought is relief. Relief they’ll never know that, hours earlier, she had been kissing a girl.” Reading this book, you really become thankful for our current society that has become more accepting towards homosexuality -although still not enough in my opinion.

the raven boys fangirl the book thief 8349244 9627755

  1. The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1) by Maggie Stiefvater
    The Raven Boys is the first book in one of my current favorite series. It’s about a girl Blue, whose family has psychic powers while Blue is just an amplifier -others’ powers become stronger when she’s there- and a group of -rich- boys from Aglionby that are obsessed with ley lines and a king that has been dead for centuries. There’s really no way to explain, but the story and characters are amazing.
  2. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
    Fangirls is about Cath, a girl who is going to college for the first time. It’s the first time she’ll be without her twin sister. She is not really the most social person but loves writing fan fiction, etc. Cath was a character I could relate to a lot -although she annoyed me sometimes- and Levi is probably the most adorable fictional guy ever.
  3. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
    This one is sort of the odd one out in this list. While most of the others are quite easy to get through and “happier” stories, The Book Thief is heart-wrenching but very unique. It’s told through the perspective of Death and it’s the story of a girl called Liesel, set in Germany during WWII. I usually don’t read many stories set during that time, but The Book Thief blew me away; not just the story but the characters as well. Liesel and Rudy are wonderful characters and you also get to know a lot about the people surrounding them. You even feel sympathy for Death’s character. It’s just great.
  4. Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma
    I’ve already mentioned this in several posts and you can find my review on this book here. I can’t praise Tabitha Suzuma’s work on this novel enough.
  5. Isla and the Happily Ever After (Anna and the French Kiss #3) by Stephanie Perkins
    Stephanie Perkins is the queen of cute, young adult romance reads. It’s set in Paris and is about Josh -who was already a side-character in Anna and the French Kiss- and Isla. It’s adorable, the characters are relatable and don’t we all wish we lived in Paris?

So those are my picks for this week’s Top 10 Tuesday. Let me know whether you agree with any of my choices, or what yours are/would be!

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books For Readers Who Like Character Driven Novels

  1. FORBIDDEN!!! I LOVE THAT BOOK SO MUCH! It does not get enough love and attention on the blogosphere, I really wish it got more because it deserves it. I really want to read Aristotle and Dante… have heard so many amazing things about that book!

    Like

    • You should really read Ari and Dante! It is as amazing as everyone says it is. And yes, Forbidden does not get enough attention at all! I think the theme of the book kind of scares people off. I’ve been promoting that book shamelessly and recommending it to everyone!

      Like

    • Tess is indeed an amazing character, I love her as well.
      I have no words for the characters of The Raven Boys, they are so unique! I am beyond excited for Blue Lily, Lily Blue.
      When I saw your list, I couldn’t believe I forgot the Lunar Chronicles either… So many great characters, and only 10 books you can choose 😦

      Like

    • Those 3 books are really wonderful! Forbidden will tear your heart out, The Miseducation will make you feel like the word “humanity” doesn’t apply to some people that are just so rigid and conservative and The Raven Boys will make you want to hug each and every character!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh yesssss to The Raven Boys and Fangirl and The Book Thief! XD I love them so so much. And I think the reason I love them is they’re so focused on fleshing out the characters until they’re SO REAL you can basically just hug them.
    I really want to read Winger too. The cover kind of turned me off, lol, but I’ve only seen people praise it!
    Here’s my TTT!

    Like

    • Yes! I just want to hug the characters every time something bad happens or do a victory dance if it’s something good!

      Winger’s cover is indeed kind of weird, but it really is an amazing novel. I’ve done that many times as well, when I hear about a book and it sounds so great but the cover is just so meh that I can’t really believe it’s a great book :p

      Like

Leave a Reply

