Review: The Blood of Olympus (Heroes of Olympus #5) by Rick Riordan

the blood of olympusTitle: The Blood of Olympus
Author: Rick Riordan
Series: Heroes of Olympus #5
Published: October 7th, 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
Genres: Middle Grade-Young Adult, Fantasy, Greek Mythology
Rating: 5 stars
You can click on the cover to go to its Goodreads page.
I am not including a synopsis in this review, as it is the 5th book in a series and I don’t want to spoil anyone who hasn’t read them yet. Because I am keeping this spoiler-free, I won’t be able to discuss a lot about the plot line or the characters. So if you want me to do a discussion about this book with spoilers (for the people that have read this book or the previous ones) let me know in the comments below!

Review

I had been waiting for The Blood of Olympus for a year prior to its release. When the release date started coming closer, I was very excited but at the same time, I was getting anxious. What if it didn’t live up to my expectations? Let me tell you, I was wrong for doubting Rick Riordan. This conclusion to one of my most loved series was amazing.

I can’t tell you much about the actual plot, as that would totally spoil you. What I can say is that this book is very action-packed. The demi-gods are being chased and attacked left and right, and it’s so suspenseful! If you, like me, are invested in the story and the characters there will be many scenes where you’ll hold your breath.

On to the characters!
In the previous book, The House of Hades, we got a lot of Percy and Annabeth. In The Blood of Olympus however, they didn’t get their own POV. In the beginning I was sad about it, but I still felt like we could connect with them through the point of view of others. Hazel and Frank are less pronounced in this book as well; but during their entire journey -the previous 4 books- they had already developed and changed so much that it wasn’t really necessary for them to keep doing so. They had become stronger people, more confident and that is how they stayed. The characters that stole my heart the most during The Blood of Olympus were Nico and Reyna -Percy and Annabeth have had my love since the first Percy Jackson book, so they don’t really count. Nico’s life has been painful, to say at the least. And so has Reyna’s. And you feel so much for them, Rick Riordan really knows how to write his characters. All I am going to say is that Nico and Reyna are brave. Perhaps more brave than any of the others: they have been through so much, not just in this book. That leaves us with Leo, Jason and Piper (and Coach Hedge, but he was just as awesome and funny as always). I didn’t really love Jason in the previous books but now, I have a new found appreciation for him. He too has learned a lot about himself in this book. My feelings for Piper described in a few words? YOU GO GIRL. And Leo, the outsider, the witty and funny guy: you are a hero.

As a last note on the characters: I REALLY HATE OCTAVIANUS. Although I already hated him in the previous books, the sentiment has only gotten stronger.

To conclude this review, I want to say that this series – together with Harry Potter, The Lord of the Rings and possibly Eragon- has shaped my life. The characters, the story, reading them as I’ve grown from a teenager to an adult; Rick Riordan’s writing has a place close to my heart. Please don’t ever stop writing.

Seven half-bloods shall answer the call,
To storm or fire, the world must fall,
An oath to keep with a final breath,
And foes bear arms to the Doors of Death

7 thoughts on “Review: The Blood of Olympus (Heroes of Olympus #5) by Rick Riordan

  1. You post interesting content here. Your blog deserves much more
    traffic. It can go viral if you give it initial boost, i know very useful service that can help you, just type in google:
    svetsern traffic tips

    Like

  2. It’s kind of obvious that Riordan left us with another cliffhanger at the end of Heroes of Olympus… He made it totally possible to make another series. Which, he didn’t have to. But he’s clearly setting us up for another series in the future for whenever he does reveal it. The guy is only 50 years old. He has at least another 20 years to be writing. I think he’s giving it a break just so a little bit of time can pass and when he does write a new series, all the characters will be a little older.. You know that would draw in a crowd! Haha

    Like

  3. Oh, Percy Jackson isn’t over yet. This series didn’t tie the ending as much as I thought it would. It left too much unsaid. And after reading Rick Riordan’s blog on a regular basis, he’s already mentioned that he’d make a third Percy Jackson series. There’s no descriptions on it yet and It won’t be in the works for awhile, but it’s already in the back of Rick Riordan’s mind. So don’t say it’s over! 😀

    Like

    • Thank you! I’m sad as well. In my mind, Percy Jackson should have a new adventure every year and I’m going to be even sadder next year this time when I remember that it’s actually over.
      I understand how you feel, The Last Olympian was really epic at the end. But I feel like they’ve had more epic adventures in this series in total that I didn’t miss it by the end.

      I will definitely check your review out 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

