Review: The Glass Magician (The Paper Magician #2) by Charlie N. Holmberg

the glass magicianTitle: The Glass Magician
Author: Charlie N. Holmberg
Series: The Paper Magician #2
Published: November 4th, 2014 by 47North
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Magic
Rating: 4.5/5 stars

You can go to its Goodreads page by clicking on the cover image.
I received this book for review from Netgalley, which in no way affects my opinion.

I will not provide a synopsis for this book, as it might spoil anyone who hasn’t read the first book, The Paper Magician. If you want to see my review for that book, you can find it here.

Review

I found the first book in this trilogy highly enjoyable so I couldn’t wait to read the sequel. And surprisingly, I loved The Glass Magician even more than I did The Paper Magician!

The story doesn’t pick up immediately after the events of the first book but a little while after. Things have settled down again, but not for long. This novel was even more action-packed than the previous one if that is even possible. Ceony is dodging exploding factories and other life-threatening situations and it is so suspenseful. There was one moment where I felt like smacking her for thinking that everything is her fault and that only she could fix it but truly, given what happened I would feel guilty as well. I wouldn’t take the actions she would -I don’t think I’m that brave- but I would feel guilty as well. That all sounds very vague and bizarre if you haven’t read this book yet and the only remedy for that is to go read it right now -but read The Paper Magician first obviously.

As for Ceony, I felt as if she had grown a lot since the first book. She was more mature and dealt with situations she didn’t like much better. She is definitely growing from a teenage girl to a young adult/woman. She is much more in control of her feelings and in general, a bit wiser. And I loved her Emery-moments. They were so adorable!

The last thing I want to add before concluding this review, is that I adored the one chapter in Emery Thane’s point of view so much! It was very interesting and I wanted more of him when the book was over.

I would definitely suggest picking these two books up; they are highly enjoyable and entertaining and once you get attached to the characters the suspense will have you staring at your book/screen. I hope there will be a third book one day, I wouldn’t hesitate to pick it up.

4 thoughts on “Review: The Glass Magician (The Paper Magician #2) by Charlie N. Holmberg

Leave a Reply

