Top Ten Tuesday: New(ish) Series I Want to Start

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week, you make a list of ten books surrounding a certain topic. This week’s topic is the Top 10 new series you want to start. As for the word new: let’s say released within the last 2 years (2012-2014). This is my list for this week, hope you enjoy it!

the kiss of deception steelheart fire & flood the queen of the tearling the false prince

  1. The Kiss of Deception (The Remnant Chronicles #1) by Mary E. Pearson
    This is a young adult fantasy story about Princess Lia -17-years old- who runs away on her wedding day to a little village. There she meets two guys: one is the prince she was supposed to marry, the other is an assassin sent to kill her. She doesn’t know though, and to make it even more interesting: the reader apparently only finds out who’s the prince and who’s the assassin like 3/4 into the book! It just sounds so good.
  2. Steelheart (Reckoners #1) by Brandon Sanderson
    Ah, Brandon Sanderson. I have not read enough of his books. I’ve only read Mistborn (#1) and I loved it so much. Since fantasy is probably my favorite genre, it’s a shame I haven’t read more of his work. In this world, there are Epics which are basically super-humans but they aren’t good. Then there are The Reckoners, who study the Epics and try to bring them down. It’s like an anti-superhero story; doesn’t that seem incredible?
  3. Fire & Flood (Fire & Flood #1) by Victoria Scott
    The first reason I want to read this is that it’s been described as a sort of mix between The Hunger Games and Pokemon. Yes, I want to read that! The second reason is the reviews I’ve seen on this book, almost everyone seems to love it. It’s about a girl who participates in a race across jungle, desert, ocean, and mountain to win a cure for her little brother, who’s sick.
  4. The Queen of the Tearling (The Queen of the Tearling #1) by Erika Johansen
    Before this book was even released, it was already signed to become a movie with EMMA WATSON. Before it was even released? I mean, it must be epic then. So I need to read it.
  5. The False Prince (The Ascendance Trilogy #1) by Jennifer A. Nielsen
    Part of the synopsis: “In a discontent kingdom, civil war is brewing. To unify the divided people, Conner, a nobleman of the court, devises a cunning plan to find an impersonator of the king’s long-lost son and install him as a puppet prince. Four orphans are recruited to compete for the role, including a defiant boy named Sage.” Kingdoms and cons. Plus, by now the entire trilogy has been released, so I can marathon it!

branded falling kingdoms midnight thief the young elites red rising

  1. Branded (Sinners #1) by Abi Ketner & Missy Kalicicki
    “Fifty years ago The Commander came into power and murdered all who opposed him. In his warped mind, the seven deadly sins were the downfall of society. To punish the guilty, he created the Hole, a place where sinners are branded according to their sins.Now, LUST wraps around my neck like thick, blue fingers, threatening to choke the life out of me. I’ve been accused of a crime I didn’t commit, and the Hole is my new home.” People get a mark branded on them if they’ve committed on of the seven deadly sins… I just need this.
  2. Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms #1) by Morgan Rhodes
    Another young adult fantasy novel I’ve been meaning to read for a while. Again, I’ve heard many -many- raving reviews about this one and as a fantasy-lover, I feel like I can’t not read it.
  3. Midnight Thief (Midnight Thief #1) by Livia Blackburne
    A thieve who gets a job from the leader of the Assassin’s Guild and a Palace knight on a mission. YES. As you may know already if you’ve read any of my previous posts -if you have, THANK YOU- I love reading about thieves, assassins, con artists, etc. This just seems right up my alley.
  4. The Young Elites (The Young Elites #1) by Marie Lu
    This is a really recent release from Marie Lu. I’ve read her Legend series in the past year and really enjoyed it. So I want to check out more of her writing, and the synopsis for this intrigues me.
  5. Red Rising (Red Rising #1) by Pierce Brown
    “The Earth is dying. Darrow is a Red, a miner in the interior of Mars. His mission is to extract enough precious elements to one day tame the surface of the planet and allow humans to live on it. The Reds are humanity’s last hope.
    Or so it appears, until the day Darrow discovers it’s all a lie. That Mars has been habitable – and inhabited – for generations, by a class of people calling themselves the Golds. A class of people who look down on Darrow and his fellows as slave labour, to be exploited and worked to death without a second thought.” This is a dystopian novel as well. If the synopsis didn’t convince you to read this, you should not only check out its reviews but also look up the author. Apparently, he’s one of the most attractive YA authors 😉

This is my Top 10 for this week! Do you agree with my choices or have you made a list yourself? Let me know in the comments!

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: New(ish) Series I Want to Start

      • I love readalongs! I’ve done formal ones and very informal ones and I would totally be up for it. This post made me remember that it’s been a while since I’ve read great fantasy (I’ve been caught up in contemporary for a while). I restarted Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier last night, one of my all-time favorites. Thanks for the reminder! (:

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

