Review: The 100 (The Hundred #1) by Kass Morgan

the 100Title: The 100
Author: Kass Morgan
Series: The Hundred #1
Published: January 1st 2013 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Genres: Young Adult, Dystopia, Science Fiction (space)
Rating: 3/5 stars

You can click on the cover to go to its Goodreads page.
I received this book for review via Netgalley, which in no way affects my opinion.

Synopsis: In the future, humans live in citylike spaceships orbiting far above Earth’s toxic atmosphere. No one knows when, or even if, the long-abandoned planet will be habitable again. But faced with dwindling resources and a growing populace, government leaders know they must reclaim their homeland…before it’s too late.
Now, one hundred juvenile delinquents are being sent on a high-stakes mission to recolonize Earth. After a brutal crash landing, the teens arrive on a savagely beautiful planet they’ve only seen from space. Confronting the dangers of this rugged new world, they struggle to form a tentative community. But they’re haunted by their past and uncertain about the future. To survive, they must learn to trust-and even love-again.

Review

I was a bit divided about this book even before I started reading it. On the one hand, I was expecting it to be really good since not only is there a TV show based on this book but a lot of people love the show as well. On the other hand, I don’t tend to be a huge fan of science fiction. Still, reading the premise this book had a lot of potential to me. And while I enjoyed the overall story, there were definitely some drawbacks for me.

Before I get into what I didn’t love as much about this story, let me just say the following. I finished this book in no time at all. I wanted to keep reading to find out how it would end, and when it did end I wanted to read more. So I did enjoy the plot itself. The drawbacks I found this book to have were mostly centered around the characters. I did think the plot was good and I will continue reading the sequel, 21 days -I need to know what happens!

I’ll get into the aspects I didn’t love as much now. The first thing was the amount of POVs. In the first 4 chapters you immediately have 4 different people “talking” without even knowing who they are. It was really confusing to me and quite hard to keep up with. I understand the need to see through different characters’ eyes, but it may have been easier for the reader if we would’ve been introduced to the character before.

I wasn’t really attached to any of the characters either. I was definitely intrigued about the story and what would happen in general, but no specifically for one character. I think the reason for that is the amount of point-of-views as well. There are quite a few novels that introduce a lot of characters but those tend to be long. This book had a lot of characters, but wasn’t particularly long so you didn’t get much time to get to know a single character. And the love triangle, really? There was no need for it. Plus it was really strange, it came out of nowhere!

Despite these little flaws, I enjoyed the overall story. I’m going to continue reading the sequel -and maybe even watch the show! I would recommend this if you’re looking for a fast-paced sci-fi story.

 

7 thoughts on “Review: The 100 (The Hundred #1) by Kass Morgan

  1. Okay, yes. I just re-read this so I can start the second book in this series BECAUSE I had forgotten all about the four different POV’s. I needed a refresher! Actually the second time, I listened to the audiobook, so it was a little less intensive, and I think I’m ready to go for the second book. I liked it though, but I do like sci-fi. So we’ll see. I plan to start soon. I totally agree with you on the love triangle and the confusion, though. The first time I read, I remember taking little notes on the POV’s. Great review. (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

