Review: Since Forever Ago by Olivia Besse

Teenager Carrying His Girlfriend Title: Since Forever Ago
Author: Olivia Besse
Standalone novel
Published: May 13th, 2014 by Wunderland Press
Genres: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Rating: 3/5 stars

You can click the cover to go to its Goodreads page.
I received this book for review via Netgalley, which in no way affects my opinion.

Synopsis: Fresh off the heels of a devastating breakup, Riley Benson is a mess. But with her ingenious plan to become a ball-busting heartbreaker herself, she’s pretty sure she’ll survive. After all, what better way is there to get revenge than to move on?

Riley’s determined to become the perfect bachelorette—she’s going to drink like a bro, belch like a beast and swear so much that she’ll make even the most seasoned sailors blush. After all, those are the qualities that every guy’s secretly looking for…. aren’t they?

Max Fletcher is in love with the girl who gave him chicken pox and his first broken leg. When his best friend seems to finally be out of the picture, he can’t help but want to keep Riley all to himself. And, after coaching her with the very best of the very worst love advice, it seems as if he might actually get what he’s wanted after all those years. But just as the two come to the realization that they’re actually kind of perfect for each other, along comes a secret that threatens to tear them apart.

Review

Before I start reading a book I like to have a look at the reviews it has received on Goodreads. For this book, the reviews were very divided. Some people gave it 1 to 2 stars, others gave it 4-5. I read that a lot of people couldn’t deal with the characters being whiny etc. So I was prepared when I actually started reading it.

I must say that this book is definitely honest. It really shows a 21-year old girl in some ways: the way Riley sometimes overreacts, how she freaks out about not knowing what to do with her life, how she’s confused about which guy she is in love with and refuses to listen to other people’s advice. Those are all qualities that can show up in 21 year old girls -me being 20 myself, I can understand most of these. We don’t have our life sorted out completely, and yes, our thought process often doesn’t make sense to others, even if it does make sense to us.

The reason I gave this 3 stars is that it was all a bit dramatized. I mean yes, we can all have our freak outs and be confused about the guy we like. But Riley was on a whole other level with these qualities… Wanting to get back with your ex-boyfriend who cheated on you with multiple girls? Saying that he just had a lapse in judgment? What? That I don’t understand. At all.

Even though Riley is a very dramatic girl, I still very much enjoyed reading this book. It was like a romantic comedy playing in my head! I must admit, this was probably the most honest romantic comedy I have ever read. I’ve read new adult novels before and although they all were romance stories it has never occurred to me that it was like a romantic comedy-movie. From the moment I started Since Forever Ago though I really felt like i was “watching” a movie! It had all the makings of a rom-com 🙂

I did enjoy reading it and do recommend it, just make sure you’re comfortable with swearing and well, reality -a bit more amped up.

3 thoughts on “Review: Since Forever Ago by Olivia Besse

  1. I’m not really into new adult so much….BUT! It does sound pretty interesting. If a bit over-dramatised? Being 20 is tough. I’m 20 and I sure do not know exactly what I’m doing with my life. lol So it’s good the author captured that really well…the drama? Not so much. >_<
    Thanks for stopping by @ Notebook Sisters!

    Like

    • Oh, I love New Adult! If you want to try reading more of the genre, I wouldn’t suggest starting with this one though. I am 20 as well! And I am not really a drama person either so for me that was also quite hard to read… I want to make a post soon of new adult recommendations. Thank you for stopping by, I really appreciate it 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

