Top Ten Tuesday: Halloween Spirit Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week, you make a list of ten books surrounding a certain topic. This week’s topic is all about the Halloween Spirit! Little side note, I don’t actually read any really scary books, so I selected some that gave me the creeps or even some about ghost-halloween themes. Hope you enjoy it!

The first 5 books are more paranormal/fantasy books, while the other 5 are crime-related. Maybe you don’t think that the crime books are really Halloween picks, but in my opinion Halloween is not only about the paranormal but also about being scared -no matter what you’re scared from. So I counted them as Halloween reads.

 

angelfall the diviners the hallowed ones the name of the star anna dressed in blood

  1. Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days #1) by Susan Ee
    Angelfall is the first in a series about a girl called Penryn who is trying to survive the apocalypse. It started when the angels fell from the sky and killed or enslaved the humans. I chose this book because it is quite gruesome and creepy, in my opinion. Also it’s one of my favorite dystopian novels, ever.
  2. The Diviners (The Diviners #1) by Libba Bray
    Two words: Naughty John. That thing (person?) creeps me out! He sings creepy little tunes while murdering people. The Diviners is an amazing book, full of intriguing paranormal stuff. The only downside is that it is taking a long time for the second one to be released… I can only hope that will make it even more epic!
  3. The Hallowed Ones (The Hallowed Ones #1) by Laura Bickle
    An Amish girl trying to survive the zombie apocalypse. I can honestly say that it is the apocalypse seen through a very different set of eyes.
  4. The Name of the Star (Shades of London #1) by Maureen Johnson
    A ghost impersonating Jack the Ripper and killing people. I don’t really believe in ghosts, but if they exist: what could be worse? I mean, you can kill a serial killer. But what do you do if the serial killer is already dead, and still killing?
  5. Anna Dressed in Blood (Anna #1) by Kendare Blake
    A teenage ghost hunter trying to hunt a ghost called Anna. But is Anna really evil?

the surgeon obsession I hunt killers living dead girl truly, madly, deadly

  1. The Surgeon (Rizzoli & Isles #1) by Tess Gerritsen
    The Rizzoli & Isles series is centered around two characters: Jane Rizzoli, a Boston homicide detective and Maura Isles, the chief medical examiner in Boston. Together they solve murders etc. The Surgeon is probably one of the creepiest serial killers ever. As an extra tip, I really like the TV show they based on this series as well!
  2. Obsession (Faces of Evil #1) by Debra Webb
    Super-creepy serial killer who is obsessed with Special Agent Jess Harris + another serial killer murdering young girls. If there is one thing that scares me the most it’s serial killers. Why? Well, the paranormal stuff doesn’t usually scare me because I don’t believe in it. Serial killers, however, are very very real.
  3. I Hunt Killers (Jasper Dent #1) by Barry Lyga
    Jasper was brought up by his dad, who is an infamous serial killer. His father taught him everything he knows in the hope Jazz will one day follow in his footsteps. Only now, a new serial killer is preying on his little town and Jazz wants to use his “skills” to help the police find him. The perspective in this series is really quite unique… and creepy.
  4. Living Dead Girl by Elizabeth Scott
    Living Dead Girl is about Alice, who was kidnapped when she was 10 years old. Now she’s 15 and lives with her kidnapper Ray. The things he does to her and how utterly hopeless Alice has become make this a terrifying read to me. This could happen to anyone. That fact scares me to death.
  5. Truly, Madly, Deadly by Hannah Jayne
    In Truly, Madly, Deadly Sawyer’s life has just been turned upside down. Her boyfriend just died in a car accident. But was it really an accident? Sawyer finds a not in her locker saying: You’re welcome. Her boyfriend was abusing Sawyer, but she never told anyone. Now, people around her are dying in what looks like accidents every time. Is Sawyer going crazy? Or is someone killing the people that wronged her?

This is my Top 10 for this week. Do you agree with my choices or have you made a list yourself? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Halloween Spirit Books

  1. I agree with you for The name of the star, this one is definitely spooky at times! Oh, and I could have added The surgeon to my list too, I have it on my TBR, but completely forgot about it.
    Great list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

