Monthly Wrap Up: October 2014

Another month has passed which means it’s time for a monthly wrap up. Not to be cliche or anything, but where has this year gone? Tomorrow will be November… That’s insane! Anyways, I’ve had quite a good reading month during October, which sort of surprises me since I’ve had quite a lot of work for university -stress, sleepless nights and tears, thank you so much university work. Here are the books I read during October. I will make sure that you can go to its Goodreads page by clicking on the title.

If I have made a review of any particular book, I will make sure it there is a link for it included, in case you want to know more about my opinion on the book. I will try to put the books in chronological order, but if you are ever curious as to what I’m reading or anything I have read before I started my blog, there is a link to my Goodreads account where you can find everything you want to know!

written in red murder of crows the blood of olympus schizo every ugly word the paper magician the glass magician the lies of locke lamora the 100 Teenager Carrying His Girlfriend Print harry potter 6the oathbreaker's shadow

  1. Written in Red (The Others #1) by Anne Bishop
    Rating: 5/5 stars
    I adore this book. I read it for the first time in 2013, and I’ve been in love with the world and characters ever since. I was in a huge reading slump in September, but this book -and the sequel- pulled me straight out of it. I would recommend this to everyone. And yes, I will probably feature this book many more times on my blog -I apologize beforehand if you don’t like it.
  2. Murder of Crows (The Others #2) by Anne Bishop
    Rating: 5/5 stars
    Just as amazing as the first book. This series will probably move to my Top 5 Series-list, together with Harry Potter, The Lord of the Rings, etc. That’s high praise coming from me. I can’t wait for Vision in Silver, the third book in the series.
  3. The Blood of Olympus (Heroes of Olympus #5) by Rick Riordan
    Rating: 5/5 stars
    The long-awaited ending to another one of Rick Riordan’s amazing series. That man is truly a genius. Anyways, I reviewed this book on the blog and you can find my review here.
  4. Schizo by Nic Sheff
    Rating: 4/5 stars
    This was definitely the most “different” book on this list. While this wrap up includes a lot of fantasy novels -as I have just noticed- this book is realistic fiction, about a boy living with a mental illness. I have made a review of it on the blog and you can find it here.
  5. Every Ugly World by Aimee L. Salter
    Rating: 4/5 stars
    Every Ugly Word is a novel that I received for review. I really enjoyed this one though, it has a unique mix of realistic fiction and a paranormal element. You can find my review here.
  6. The Paper Magician (The Paper Magician #1) by Charlie N. Holmberg
    Rating: 4/5 stars
    The Paper Magician, just like the Glass Magician, are books I received for review. I was honestly surprised by how much I liked these. Curious about this book? More can be found in my review: here.
  7. The Glass Magician (The Paper Magician #2) by Charlie N. Holmberg
    Rating: 4.5/5 stars
    As I said before, I received this book for review. I have a review in which I go a bit more into depth but these were just such enjoyable, quick reads. I devoured them. You can find my review here.
  8. The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastards #1) by Scott Lynch
    Rating: 5/5 stars
    As a fantasy-lover, I HAD to read this book, especially after all the love it’s been getting these past months/years. I wrote a review for it, which can be found here.
  9. The 100 (Hundred #1) by Kass Morgan
    Rating: 3/5 stars
    This book was a bit so-so for me, and I elaborate on the reasons why in my review. Maybe I will start watching the show, who knows? Read my review here.
  10. Since Forever Ago by Olivia Besse
    Rating: 3/5 stars
    Same story for this book: some aspects that I really enjoyed, some that irked me. I also wrote a review for this one, which you can find here.
  11. Soulless (Parasol Protectorate #1) by Gail Carriger
    Rating: 3.5/5 stars
    Same story for Soulless: some parts that I really liked, others that I didn’t like as much. Most of the books that blew me away seem to be situated in the beginning of the month, now that I look back on it. You can find my review here.
  12. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Harry Potter #6) by J.K. Rowling
    Rating: 5/5 stars
    Ah, do you even have to ask for a rating on this one? I am pretty sure you don’t. I don’t know how many times I have read and re-read this series. It doesn’t really matter though because even if I have read every book 99 times, I will still enjoy it just as much the 100th time.
  13. The Oathbreaker’s Shadow (The Knots Duology #1) by Amy McCulloch
    Rating: 4/5 stars
    I read this book practically on the last day(s) of October. While I was expecting the story to be intriguing, I didn’t expect to enjoy it as much as I did. I will have a review up for this book on November 1st -so basically tomorrow if you’re interested in reading that.

I am really happy with both the amount of reading I’ve done and the amount of amazing new discoveries I’ve made. If I had to choose one book (or two) that surprised me the most, it would the The Paper Magician trilogy. I expected to like them, which is why I requested them for review, but I ended up enjoying them even more than I thought I would. Have you read anything (good) this month, or want to recommend me one of your favorite books? Let me know in the comments!

P.S. I am quite proud of the amount of books that I reviewed. Proud moment right here -sorry. The only books I didn’t review were the ones I re-read.

Leave a Reply

