#FridayReads – November 7th, 2014

This week, I am going to get on the #FridayReads bandwagon. This is a trend that started on Twitter and was then brought over to the YouTube and blogging community. Basically, you give everyone a quick glance at what you will be reading during the weekend. I think this is a really fun way to show you guys what I’m currently reading, and of which books you may be seeing a review soon! Let’s get into it.

This weekend I have a bit of reading time although it probably won’t be a lot (thanks, university work). But there are some books that I’ve already started and want to finsih and maybe I can even pick up a new one, who knows?

yes please

The first book I am “reading” is Yes Please by Amy Poehler. I wrote “reading” because I am not literally reading it, I’m listening to the audiobook. This is one of the first audiobooks I’ve ever listened to. They intimidate me a bit, I always feel like I won’t remember anything if someone is just reading it to me. Amy Poehler narrates this one herself, and so far I am really enjoying it.

If you have any audiobook recommendations, please let me know in the comments! I really want to try and get into them but I don’t really know where to start.

rite of rejection

The second book I am currently reading is Rite of Rejection by Sarah Negovetich. I received this book via Netgalley for review. I’m only about 10% in, but so far I am enjoying it. Like I said, I just don’t really have much time to read right now.

Rite of Rejection is about a girl called Rebecca, who lives in a dystopian society where 16-year-olds are scanned before they truly join the society. If the light flashes green, you can go to the Acceptance Ball and become a member of society (and marry, live in peace, etc.), which is everything she has ever dreamed of. However, her light flashes red, which means she’ll be placed with all the criminals. Because a red light means you’ll be a danger to the society. This book will be out on December 4th, 2014.

the wicked + the divine vol 1

The third book I’ve started is a graphic novel I also received from Netgalley. It’s The Wicked + The Divine Vol. 1 by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie and Matt Wilson. I am over halfway through this one and to be honest, I am not enjoying it. I think the artwork is truly amazing: the illustrations and colorings are out of this world beautiful. But the story? I feel like I am missing a part of it, like I don’t understand it.

This graphic novel is about the gods, who reincarnate in humans every ninety years. But, in two years, they’ll be dead. That’s really all I know and I am already halfway through this. Sorry.

horns

If by some miracle, I end up finishing some -or all- of these books, I would like to pick up Horns by Joe Hill. I’ve been hearing so much about it lately and I definitely want to read it before I go watch the movie. It’s also very different from everything I’ve been reading lately, which might make for a nice change.

Horns is the story of Ig, who wakes up one day with real horns on his head. His girlfriend was raped and murdered a year ago, and everyone thinks he did it. The horns also give him a new power, which he intends to use to find out who murdered his beloved.

So these are the books I am going to be reading this weekend, or at least try to read. Are you reading a book right now? Let me know in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “#FridayReads – November 7th, 2014

  1. Oh my word! Amy Poehler narrates it herself!? I’m in! I just held this lovely book in my hands today at Costco and was begging my hubby to buy it for me; no luck. Maybe for Christmas? 🙂

    I do hope you enjoy it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

