Review: The Wicked + The Divine Vol. 1 by Kieron Gillen

the wicked + the divine vol 1Title: The Wicked + The Divine Vol. 1
Author: Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie (illustrations), Matt Wilson (colorist)
Series: The Wicked + The Divine #1-5
Published: November 12th, 2014 by Image Comics
Genres: graphic novel, fantasy
Rating: 2.5/5 stars

You can click on the cover to go to its Goodreads page.
I received this book via Netgalley, which in no way affects my opinion.

Synopsis: Every ninety years, twelve gods incarnate as humans. They are loved. They are hated. In two years, they are dead. The team behind critically thermonuclear floor-fillers Young Avengers and Phonogram reunite to start a new, ongoing, superhero fantasy with a beautiful, oversized issue. Welcome to The Wicked + The Divine, where gods are the ultimate pop stars and pop stars are the ultimate gods. But remember: just because you’re immortal, doesn’t mean you’re going to live forever. 

Review

I don’t have very much experience with graphic novels but during the past year I’ve been trying to read more of them. There were some that I loved, some that I liked and some, like this one, that just weren’t for me. I’ll explain why in a second.

Firstly, I thought this graphic novel was absolutely beautiful. The illustrations and coloring are wonderful! I could honestly stare at some of the illustrations for hours, that’s how intricate they are. If my rating were just based on those aspects, I would have given it 5/5 stars.

However, I didn’t get along with the story as well as I did with the illustration. The file I received had about 180 pages and 90 pages in, I was still confused. I felt like I was missing the first part of the story: there was almost no explanation whatsoever. How did the gods come to incarnate into humans? Why -or what- do they perform? I was left with all of these questions, which prevented me from enjoying the novel.

After about 100 pages it suddenly got very action-packed: I wanted to find out who the killer was and what was going to happen to Luci(fer). But at that point the graphic novel was almost finished.

Some of the characters I found intriguing, like Luci, but overall I can’t say that I was attached to any character -certainly not the main one. I felt as if you also didn’t get to know anything about any character. Even, the main one. All I could use to describe her character is that she wants to be noticed, to perform and get attention.

I won’t lie and say I wasn’t disappointed: I wanted to love this since the synopsis sounded really amazing and the illustrations were out-of-this-world. The storyline just wasn’t for me, I guess. I probably won’t continue on reading this series.

3 thoughts on “Review: The Wicked + The Divine Vol. 1 by Kieron Gillen

  1. I accidentally read volume two of this series before I read volume one, and I actually think it was better that way. I enjoyed volume one when I went back to read it, but not nearly as much as the second one, so I may have felt the same way you did if I’d read them in the right order. I guess that was a lucky mistake!

    Like

Leave a Reply

