Review: Written on her Heart by Paige Ryan

written on her hearTitle: Written on her Heart
Author: Paige Ryan
Series: Callaway Cove #1
Published: March 20th, 2014 by Createspace
Genres: New adult, romance
Rating: 3/5 stars

You can click the cover to go to its Goodreads page.
I received this book for review via Netgalley, which in no way affects my opinion.

Synopsis: An opportunity of a lifetime. This is what Andi finds when she returns home to Callaway Cove on summer break. A chance to work for her literary idol Ford Delaney is up for grabs, and she’s willing to risk everything-her boyfriend, her best friends, and her education-to get it. She’s positive this will be the key to reaching her dreams. But the moment she begins working for the reclusive author, Andi realizes there’s more to him than just a name. As attraction builds between Andi and Ford, she begins to discover consequences must come hand-in-hand with something great-which could loosen control over her tightly wound life. And once romantic sparks fly, Andi’s other relationships start to crumble, Ford’s fame comes back to haunt him, and the heat they generate will either forge a powerful, enduring love or threaten everything she holds dear.

Review

To be honest, I am still unsure of how to rate this book. Should I give it 3 stars or 3.5? Does it make a big difference? I don’t know. If it were based just on the enjoyment factor it would definitely be 3.5 stars. But if I am honest, there were some aspects of the book I didn’t really agree with and while they didn’t prevent me from enjoying the book, they are definitely important to my star rating. So let’s get into it!

Like I said before, I really enjoyed reading this. Andi and Ford has incredible chemistry and I -mostly- enjoyed the development of their friendship and relationship. I always appreciate witty conversations and discussions, especially in new adult, and this book did not lack in that department. I stayed up quite late to finish it so it definitely sucked me in. There were just some minor aspects that I didn’t like.

First of all, Andi’s friends. Those girls are NOT friends! They constantly try to get the other one fired etc… I’m sorry, but I can honestly say that I am happy none of my friends would ever treat me like these girls do. Secondly, cheating. It’s just a big no-no for me. Usually it bothers me A LOT when it happens in a new adult romance and while I still didn’t like it happening here, I didn’t mind it as much as I do otherwise (I have no clue why). Lastly, while I don’t know much about the writing/publishing process, I felt it was a bit unrealistically portrayed here. Maybe it does happen like this, how would I know (?), but I’d be very surprised to hear that.

I feel as if all these “negative points” made me sound like I didn’t enjoy this book and I want to correct that: I really did! While I didn’t really like all the aspects I mentioned previously there was something about this book that kept me glued to my screen (I read this on the Kindle app). It had this mysterious pull on me and I couldn’t stop reading!

I would recommend this book if you like to read new adult. If you have read this book, please let me know in the comments below what you thought about it! I’d be very interested in hearing your thoughts and discussing this book with you! 🙂

One thought on “Review: Written on her Heart by Paige Ryan

Leave a Reply

