Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle #3) by Maggie Stiefvater

blue lily, lily blueTitle: Blue Lily, Lily Blue
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Series: The Raven Cycle #3
Published: October 21st, 2014 by Scholastic Press
Genres: young adult, paranormal, supernatural, magic
Rating: 5/5 stars

You can click the cover to go to its Goodreads page.
Because this is the third installment in a series, I won’t put a synopsis here. If you want to see it, you can go to Goodreads via the cover.

Review

The Raven Cycle is slowly becoming one of my favorite series ever. It is such a magical story and honestly, a strange one. I couldn’t explain it to anyone else even if I tried. But that’s what makes it so special in my eyes. It’s unlike anything you’ve ever read before.

The plots of these books are always so hard to describe! From the first book on, Blue and her Raven Boys are searching for an ancient king called Glendower who has been sleeping for centuries somewhere. They believe he is hidden in Henrietta, Virginia because the ley lines -magical power lines- are strong there. That’s the basic plot. It’s always so exciting and suspenseful to see what they’re up to! They get into all kinds of trouble and it makes for such an amazing read.

Even though the plot is incredible, the characters truly make this series. The interactions and love between Blue and the Raven Boys -Adam, Ronan, Gansey and Noah- are out of this world. You can see their friendship build up from the fist book and turn into something more; as said in this book “they were all in love with each other”. They are all connected in a way: to each other and to their search for the king; I haven’t really read much about friendships like these. It’s just beautiful and adorable. I also really enjoy reading about their families, which is something a YA book often lacks. Even the families are all so different: Blue comes from a family of psychics who live together, Adam’s dad is abusive, Gansey’s mom is an important politician, etc. There’s rich and poor, loving and hating, everything.

Lastly: the feels! I don’t want to give any spoilers but the characters make you feel so much! Although I could try and pick a favorite character, I would have a very difficult time doing so. I love each of them for their own reasons.

I honestly can’t wait for the next book, which I think will be the final installment in the series. I would highly recommend this book to absolutely everyone.

4 thoughts on “Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle #3) by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. Maggie does that, she gets under your skin quietly and all too easily and her stories become the most important thing ever. I have yet to read Blue Lily but I already adore the series. I adored all her books. I just know I’m going to love this, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

