Review: Yes Please by Amy Poehler (Audiobook)

yes pleaseTitle: Yes Please
Author: Amy Poehler
Standalone
Published: October 28th, 2014 by HarperAudio
Genres: Non-Fiction, Humour, Biography
Rating: 5/5 stars

You can click on the cover to go to its Goodreads page.

Synopsis: In Amy Poehler’s highly anticipated first book, Yes Please, she offers up a big juicy stew of personal stories, funny bits on sex and love and friendship and parenthood and real life advice (some useful, some not so much), like when to be funny and when to be serious. Powered by Amy’s charming and hilarious, biting yet wise voice, Yes Please is a book is full of words to live by.

Review

I am proud to say that this is the first audiobook I have ever finished. I finished one! This is highly unusual for me, for two reasons:

  1. I don’t do well with audiobooks: it’s hard to concentrate on in my opinion, and I’m afraid important scenes will just slip my mind.
  2. Same goes for biographies. I have never been interested enough in someone else’s life to read a book they wrote about it. This doesn’t mean that I am not interested in anyone else! It’s just that reading an entire, non-fiction book about them, that just doesn’t appeal to me.

I absolutely adored this one though. First of all, Amy Poehler narrates this herself and she is extremely funny. She made me laugh out loud several times while listening to this which made me want to come back to it.

This book is not only a novel about Amy’s life, it’s also full of advice that pretty much can be used by anyone. I don’t have that much in common with Amy Poehler, except for the fact that I’m white and a female. I’m not American, particularly funny, aspiring to be an actress or anything like that. So I didn’t listen to this to pick up tips to start a career in the same business. Confession time: I have never watched SNL or Parks and Recreation. I know that it’s weird that I picked this up if I haven’t even seen her act but I have seen Amy herself on television. Not acting, but just being herself. And she was hilarious! That’s why I decided to listen to this.

I am really happy that I finished it, maybe it will even help me get into audiobooks more. I got some great advice -from so many topics- from this! You get advice about starting a career -any career-, love, taking opportunities, etc.

Two of the most interesting parts of this audiobook are that she has guest narrators and that the last chapter is read in front of a live audience. The guest narrators are so much fun! She has for example her mom, dad and Seth Meyers and a few more. That way you get to hear a different voice sometimes and there are a few chapters from someone else’s POV. And the live audience was interesting as well.

I would highly recommend this audiobook! It’s funny and interesting -even if you’ve never seen her act before.

3 thoughts on “Review: Yes Please by Amy Poehler (Audiobook)

Leave a Reply

