Underrated Books

Hi everyone! Today I’m making a post about the books that don’t get enough love. There are so many books out there that it’s impossible to read them all. Because of that fact, there are a lot of books out there that are truly incredible yet not enough people know about them. I think that if every blogger or YouTuber made a list of underrated books, we would discover quite some hidden gems!

eon don't turn around tsarina don't even think about it proxy

  1. Eon (Eon #1) by Alison Goodman
    I really enjoyed this duology! It’s about dragons Dragoneyes, people who are linked with a certain dragon. It’s a very captivating story, I just kept reading and reading and couldn’t put it down. This is one of the more well-known books in this list, yet I’m including it anyway since I don’t hear many people talking about it.
  2. Don’t Turn Around (PERSEFoNE #1) by Michelle Gagnon
    This is about a hacker-orphan-girl called Noah who wakes up on an operating table with no idea of how she got there or what happened to her. I love hacker stories!
  3. Tsarina by J. Nelle Patrick/Jackson Pearce
    I’ve been trying to read a bit more historical fiction in the past year or so and when I saw this cover and the fact that it was about the Russian tsar and Rebellions, I was sold! It’s definitely historical fiction with a paranormal/fantasy twist and the author adapted the events of the Rebellions a bit. Yet I highly enjoyed it.
  4. Don’t Even Think About It (Don’t Even Think About It #1) by Sarah Mlynowski
    A group of teenagers that get a flu shot and suddenly can hear every one’s -including each other’s- minds. It’s told through all of their perspectives at the same time. It’s a bit confusing at first, but very unique!
  5. Proxy (Proxy #1) by Alex London
    This is one of the best dystopians I’ve read recently. It includes everything a YA book should have: interesting characters, a horrible world -that could actually happen-, LGBT characters, rich and poor,  etc. You need to read this one!

I hunt killers schizo 8349244 the miseducation the hallowed ones

  1. I Hunt Killers (Jasper Dent #1) by Barry Lyga
    Jasper Dent was raised by his dad , Billy, who is a serial killer. He passed on all his knowledge to his son, so he could one day follow in his footsteps. But people are getting killed in his town in the same way his father used to commit murders. Will Jasper find out who’s doing this?
  2. Schizo by Nic Sheff
    A teenage boy with schizophrenia is looking for his little brother, who got kidnapped. This book is important, I feel. We don’t talk -open- enough about mental illness, and we should.
  3. Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma
    Yet another taboo topic: a brother and sister in love. Absolutely recommend this one!
  4. The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth
    A girl who discovers she’s gay -in the 80s, I believe- on the exact moment her parents die. Just as the previous two books, I feel like these stories are important, that they should be heard. This is a bit of a slower-paced book but I had my eyes glued to the pages.
  5. The Hallowed Ones (The Hallowed Ones #1) by Laura Bickle
    APOCALYPSE! And the only safe places on earth are holy grounds. It follows a girl called Katie, who is Amish. Such a different take on the whole apocalypse-theme.

the oathbreaker's shadow the grail conspiracy

  1. The Oathbreaker’s Shadow (The Knots Duology #1) by Amy McCulloch
    A recent read! I’ve never read a fantasy story like this one, it has a very unique concept! For every promise you make someone, you have to tie a knot. When you break that promise the knot burns up, not only scarring you but leaving you with a shadow -and cast out of society. (In our society, there wouldn’t be very many people left I think :p )
  2. The Grail Conspiracy (A Cotton Stone Mystery #1) by Lynn Sholes & Joe Moore
    A historical-archeological mystery! I love these kinds of books. The main character finds/end up with an ancient artifact which is surrounded by secrets and murder. So suspenseful!

I hope you enjoyed my list, and maybe even picked up a recommendation. Do you have a book you think is underrated? Let me know in the comments, I’d really enjoy finding more of these gems.

2 thoughts on “Underrated Books

  1. I really enjoyed I Hunt Killers. I root for Jazz, but sometimes he scares me. I will have to check out these other books in your list. A couple of underrated books that immediately come to mind are Alexandra Bracken’s Brightly Woven and Franny Billingsley’s Chime.

    Like

Leave a Reply

