Top Ten Tuesday: My Winter TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week, you make a list of ten books surrounding a certain topic. This week is all about the books you want to read this winter. Now, I’m going to be honest: I shouldn’t be allowed to do TBR lists. Why, you ask? Because I never, ever end up reading them. I’m a huge mood reader and tend to pick up whatever I feel like at the moment. I bet that I won’t have read a single book on my Fall TBR by the end of fall. Whoops. So you should view this list as following: My Winter TBR (in an ideal universe, where I actually do read them). So let’s get into it!

never face heir of fire half a king the winner's curse the bone season

  1. Never Fade (The Darkest Minds #2) by Alexandra Bracken
    I really enjoyed the first book, The Darkest Minds, which was the first book I read in 2014. We’re almost at the end of the year and I haven’t continued with the series yet. Now that In the Afterlight is published, I can actually binge-read them if I want to.
  2. Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3) by Sarah J. Maas
    I tried picking this one up last month, but I was just not in the mood. I love this story and the characters though, and I’ve heard great things about Heir of Fire!
  3. Half a King (Shattered Sea #1) by Joe Abercrombie
    This one just sounds like a solid fantasy story. I’ve seen some reviews from YouTubers/bloggers whose opinions tend to align with mine and they seemed to love it. SO I MUST READ IT AND LOVE IT TOO.
  4. The Winner’s Curse (The Winner’s Trilogy #1) by Marie Rutkoski
    The sequel to this book was on so many people’s TTT last week -sequels I need right now. If so many people are anticipating the sequel, the first one must have made a good impression. I’m curious!
  5. The Bone Season (The Bone Season #1) by Samantha Shannon
    I’ve been hearing more and more about this one recently, and all good things. The synopsis sounds so intriguing as well!

city of stairs the house of the four winds the spirit thief all the light we cannot see the help

  1. City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett
    Again, this was recommended -not specifically to me- by someone whose reviews I trust, especially in the fantasy genre. This seems to be a standalone too, which I love. Fantasy standalones are quite rare.
  2. The House of the Four Winds (One Dozen Daughters #1) by Mercedes Lackey & James Mallory
    I stumbled across this book recently, and the synopsis sounds like so much fun! If you want to read it, you can click on the title to go to its Goodreads page.
  3. The Spirit Thief (The Legend of Eli Monpress #1) by Rachel Aaron
    The greatest thief of the age, Eli Monpress, needs to raise the bounty on his head to put his plan into effect. And what better way to do so than to steal some things? Like a king.
    DOESN’T THAT SOUND CRAZY?
  4. All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
    Switching it up to a total different genre with this one. A historical fiction story about an orphan German boy and a blind Parisian girl during the war.
  5. The Help by Kathryn Stockett
    I really need to read this one. I’ve seen the movie twice -I think- and really loved it. So I have to read this book!

So this is my list for this week. Have you made one? Let me know in the comments below, I’d love to check them out!

30 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Winter TBR

  1. Half a King seems like a great fantasy! A ton of bloggers/booktubers have been talking about it recently and I feel like I should pick it up soon.

    You’re going to LOVE The Winner’s Curse; it’s one of my favs from 2014 and is a must-read for fantasy lovers. I hope you get to read it soon. Great list! =D

    Like

    • I’ve heard good things about Half a King from several people! I’m excited.
      You didn’t like THe House of the Four Winds?
      I saw a review of City of Stairs recently and it made me so excited to read it.
      Thank you!

      Like

  2. My TBR lists never get completed when I want them to either. Sometimes you pick up a book to read and you just know it’s not time yet. The Winner’s Curse is all kinds of fantastic, so I really hope you enjoy it.

    Like

  3. Great list! Seeing House of the Four Winds jogged my memory as I saw someone saying how good that book was a while ago and meant to add it to my TBR, so thanks for that πŸ™‚ Also love your picks of Half a King, The Bone Season and Heir of Fire (I have the first book of that series on my list!)

    Like

    • Thank you! I also saw the House of the Four Winds somewhere although I can’t remember where! I really need to read all of the books, their premises are incredible. You mean Throne of Glass? I loved that one so much!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  4. I SO badly want to read The Winner’s Curse, it looks AMAZING! I also really want to read the Throne of Glass series as I’ve heard nothing but good things about it! πŸ™‚ I don’t stick to lists either but I am DETERMINED to stick to this one, but I probably won’t. Meh.

    Kyra @ Blog of a Bookaholic
    My TTT Post!

    Like

    • Me too! I keep saying I want to read The Winner’s Curse, yet here I am and I still haven’t done so. I highly enjoyed Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight! I hope you’ll like them too πŸ˜€

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

