Review: Seeker (Seeker #1) by Arwen Elys Dayton

seeker Title: Seeker
Author: Arwen Elys Dayton
Series: Seeker #1
Release date: February 10th, 2015
Genres: young adult, (high) fantasy
Rating: 4.5/5 stars

BookDepository | GoodReads

I received this book for review via Netgalley, which in no way affects my opinion.

Synopsis: The night Quin Kincaid takes her Oath, she will become what she has trained to be her entire life. She will become a Seeker. This is her legacy, and it is an honor. As a Seeker, Quin will fight beside her two closest companions, Shinobu and John, to protect the weak and the wronged. Together they will stand for light in a shadowy world. And she’ll be with the boy she loves–who’s also her best friend. But the night Quin takes her Oath, everything changes. Being a Seeker is not what she thought. Her family is not what she thought. Even the boy she loves is not who she thought. And now it’s too late to walk away.

Review

When I read the synopsis of this book on Netgalley, I requested it immediately. I’m a huge fan of fantasy and this seemed right up my alley. It took me 6 days to read this, which is quite a long time for me. However, I’m pretty sure that if it had been any other book it would’ve taken me twice that amount. I’ve been so busy lately with university and I’ve been sick too. Yet every time I had to put this book down, it made me feel a bit sad. I loved it so much!

First of all, the plot. This book’s plot is insane -in a good way! It spans over about 2 years and so much crazy stuff happens. It starts when Quin takes her oath as a Seeker and discovers that being a Seeker is not as noble as she’d been taught. But what can she do about it? She’s taken her Oath so she’s marked as a Seeker and there’s no way to escape. That’s when things start going crazy. I never knew what to expect! I got swept up by the story and didn’t want to come back down.

Not only was the plot incredible, so were the characters. Because the story spans over such a long time, there is a lot of character development. I can honestly say that by the middle/end of this book, you wouldn’t recognize half of the characters. My favorite ones? Shinobu and Maud/the Young Dread. Those two characters were the most fascinating to me. I fell in love with Shinobu’s character and story!

I have to give a warning: there is a love triangle in this book. When I realized that, the first thing that went through my mind was “Oh no, there’s going to be drama”. To be honest, this is probably one of the first love triangles that didn’t bother me. It wasn’t that Quin was like “I can’t choose between the two, I love them both, who will I pick…”. Because of the events that happened, the relationships between every character shift so much and not just the love-aspect. In my opinion, the love triangle doesn’t take away from the awesomeness of this story.

I would HIGHLY recommend this book! I can’t wait to read the sequel, The Traveler, which apparently will be released in 2016? That’s WAY too long!

Have any of you read this book or heard of it before? I’d love to hear your opinions!

3 thoughts on “Review: Seeker (Seeker #1) by Arwen Elys Dayton

Leave a Reply

