DNF Review: Whole in the Clouds by Kristine Kibbee

Adobe Photoshop PDF Title: Whole in the Clouds
Author: Kristine Kibbee
Standalone novel
Published: November 6th, 2014
Genres: middle grade, fantasy
Rating: not really applicable…

GoodReads
I received this book via Netgalley for review, which in no way affects my opinion.

Synopsis: Cora Catlin is a misfit at best, and an outcast at worst. She feels out of place, as if everything is backward and something is missing from her life. And then, on her first day of middle school, everything changes. When Cora encounters an elfin stranger who speaks of the magical world Clouden, an entire kingdom hidden up in the sky, she can’t wait to leave her boring, humdrum life behind. As Cora travels to her new home, where children sprout from the ground and rivers flow with chocolate, she finds herself transformed—and if that weren’t enough, she has to adjust to royal parents, talking Pegasuses, a raging war, and an alluring love interest as well. Exploring this new land, Cora unearths wonders and secrets beyond her wildest imaginings, discovering the meaning of true friendship, love, and what it means to feel whole.

Review

I DNFed this book at about 38%. If you’re not familiar with the term DNF, it means did not finish. Because I didn’t actually finish this book, I don’t feel comfortable rating it either. This is my first DNF review ever! I tend to finish books, even though I am not enjoying them at all because I am just too stubborn to give up. That almost always ends in a reading slump though, which I kindly want to avoid. Since the publishers were kind enough to send this book to me for review, I did feel like I owed them one. But I could not make myself finish this book so I figured this would do. I’ll go into the reasons I didn’t like this one now.

First of all, Cora’s adoptive mother is HORRIBLE. She keeps telling Cora that she’s fat, has to lose weight and only lets her eat diet or extremely healthy foods that her daughter dislikes. That’s some great parenting right there… Cora is bullied at school every day and her parents know this and don’t do anything about it. Her mother just insists that she needs to try harder to make friends. WHAT?

As I said, Cora gets bullied at school by pretty much everyone. She doesn’t speak up to the teachers about it, which I understand happens a lot in reality. Yet the teachers know and don’t do anything either. The children are absolutely cruel just because Cora might not be as slim as the others. Because she’s been a bit depressed and lonely, she gets a dog and choose one herself. I think it’s adorable that she chose that particular dog, but again, I think it was done for the wrong reasons. She chose that dog because it was the one that mistrusted all humans, one that wasn’t wanted. She said that would fit her. So she feels like she’s not wanted either?

The last thing I just couldn’t deal with was when Cora gsoes to Clouden. Apparently, in our world everything is upside down or “backwards”. So when she arrives in Clouden, she becomes the person she really is on the inside. And I understand that they probably wanted to show that she was a beautiful person on the inside but in my opinion, they went about it the wrong way. Because she turned beautiful and is described as: older, SLIM, etc. So she wasn’t anything before, when she was chubbier, but now she’s beautiful because she is slim? So everyone that isn’t slim is ugly and everyone who is slim is beautiful? That is not what I would want to teach anyone.

I know I sound really harsh right now, but you know I only state my honest opinion. The only parts that I liked about the book were her father in the beginning and the description of Clouden. Her father kept slipping her treats and he seemed to be the only parent that really cared about her. And Clouden really seemed like a magical place! I just didn’t agree with the rest of the book.

Have you ever DNFed a -review- book? Do you feel guilty as well? Let me know in the comments below!

P.S. I didn’t rate this book on Goodreads and neither did I count it for my 2014 goal. It didn’t feel right to do those things, as I didn’t actually finish it.

3 thoughts on “DNF Review: Whole in the Clouds by Kristine Kibbee

  1. I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy this! I agree that it didn’t give a good message and I probably would’ve DNFed as well. I also hate marking a book as DNF, but unfortunately it sometimes has to be done! Sometimes I do feel guilty writing negative reviews and DNFing but we have to be honest if we really didn’t enjoy a book! 🙂 Great review! x

    Like

    • Thank you! I also agree, I am always going to be honest. I’m never going to recommend a book I didn’t enjoy. Have you read this one?
      I feel bad for making a negative review, but it is normal I won’t enjoy some books. We can’t like or love everything….

      Thanks for stopping by 😀 x

      Like

Leave a Reply

