Books to TV: The Good (Part I)

A little while ago I made a post called Books to Movies: Part I and when I was researching for that post, I noticed that quite a few of the TV shows I watch or have watched are also based on books. So today, I am showing the TV shows that I really enjoyed and that are based off books. My only request is that you PLEASE DON’T GIVE ANY SPOILERS FOR THESE SHOWS! I am behind on watching almost all of my TV shows due to lack of time, and I honestly don’t want to get spoiled. Hope you enjoy this post!

I mentioned the names of the TV shows in order underneath every section.

TV Shows based on books I’ve actually read (or at least some if it’s a series).

got tv bitten tv bones tv once upon a time tv RI_Poster.indd true blood tv grimm tv the vampire diaries tv the originals tv

Game of Thrones, Bitten, Bones, Once Upon a Time, Rizzoli & Isles, True Blood, Grimm, The Vampire Diaries (DON’T READ THE BOOKS), The Originals (Spin-off of The Vampire Diaries)

TV Shows based on books I haven’t read (oops).

arrow tv smallville tc gossip girl tv beauty and the beast tv dexter tv elementary tv sleepy hollow tv under the dome tv robin hood tv

Arrow, Smallville, Gossip Girl, Beauty & the Beast, Dexter, Elementary, Sleepy Hollow, Under the Dome, Robin Hood

Books that are based on TV shows
We’re switching it up for this one! By the way, I haven’t read any of the books that are based on these shows. Aside from the Veronica Mars ones, I probably never will.

castle veronica mars supernatural

Castle, Veronica Mars, Supernatural

Have you read any of the books or watched any of the shows? I’d love to hear it in the comments!

5 thoughts on “Books to TV: The Good (Part I)

  1. I’ve watched….
    Game of Thrones (season 1) and read up thru book 3
    Women of the Otherworld (read all but last two books) aka Bitten (haven’t watched any yet)
    Bones (tons of seasons….up to when uhh I forget but I got bored with it, won’t ever read the books)
    Grimm – all caught up on the show, didn’t realize there were books
    Once upon a time – watched first season only
    True Blood – 2 episodes yak, read all but last maybe four books?
    Vampire Diaries – watched first season only and that’s all I’ll watch
    Elementary – watched first season
    Dexter – first season
    Sleepy Hollow – first season plan to watch more!
    Supernatural – thru season four…don’t plan to continue unfortunately got bored.

    Wow this makes me feel like I watched more tv then I though but all I watch now is Grimm, the Big Bang theory and Face Off

    Like

    • I’ve only read the first book of the Women of the Otherworld series! I also don’t think I’ll be reading the Bones books, I really enjoy the show but the books are quite different I think.

      I included Grimm because of the fairy tales/supernatural aspect of the Grimm brothers and the same for Once Upon a Time (which I really love).

      I’ve never heard of Face Off!

      Like

  2. I’ve read all of the True Blood books! I’m a little behind on watching the show though. The show is VERY loosely based on the books. Same goes for The Vampire Diaries. I’ve also read all of the Game of Thrones books but I feel the show follows the books pretty closely.

    Like

    • I also think they are loosely based on the books! As for True Blood, I enjoy both versions although I haven’t finished either. But The Vampire Diaries, I much prefer the TV show over the books.

      And Game of Thrones is really quite honest to the books I think. They are very similar, especially the first book/season.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

