Top Ten Tuesday: New-To Me Authors of 2014

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week, you make a list of ten books surrounding a certain topic. This week is all about the authors that were new to you in 2014. It could be authors who have been writing and publishing books for years yet you have only read your first book by them in 2014. I’ve mentioned the author at the beginning of the title and then the book I’ve read by him/her. Hope you enjoy my list. Let’s do this!

everything leads to you the darkesst minds the final empire throne of glass since you've been gone

  1. Nina LaCour, Everything Leads to You
    I really enjoyed this one, it’s very different from other YA romance novels -in my opinion.
  2. Alexandra Bracken, The Darkest Minds
    So much hype around this book and all I have to say is that it’s well deserved. Really well written!
  3. Brandon Sanderson, The Final Empire
    Brandon Sanderson is just a master of fantasy. His skill seeps out of every word and sentence. it’s just masterful. I’m making it my mission in life to read every one of his books.
  4. Sarah J. Maas, Throne of Glass
    I will read every single thing this amazing author writes. EVERYTHING.
  5. Morgan Matson, Since You’ve Been Gone
    I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I think the author wrote about important aspects of being a teenager and love that are often left out: friends, family and being the best person you can be.

12000020 the paper magician the lies of locke lamora The Shadow of the Wind pivot point

  1. Benjamin Alire Saรฉnz, Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
    I just have no words for the awesomeness that is this book. It’s just out-of-this world.
  2. Charlie N. Holmberg, The Paper Magician
    A recent discovery! I highly enjoyed the first two books in the Paper Magician trilogy, I thought they were really well written.
  3. Scott Lynch, The Lies of Locke Lamora
    Another master of fantasy. The world and characters that Scott Lynch has created are fantastic.
  4. Carlos Ruiz Zafรณn, The Shadow of the Wind
    This was one of the most unique books I’ve ever read! I would recommend this one to every book lover out there. The story stayed suspenseful and you didn’t know what was going to end up happening. His writing… I just can’t find the words.
  5. Kasie West, Pivot Point
    Another pleasant surprise! This duology was well written, suspenseful and exciting. I will definitely read more of her work!

That is my list for this week! Have you read any of these books or made a list yourself? Put the link in the comments below, I’d love to check them out.

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: New-To Me Authors of 2014

  1. I recently discovered many of these authors but I haven’t read any of their books yet! I’m especially looking forward to reading books by Sarah J Maas, Brandon Sanderson and Scott Lynch ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Heck yes Brandon Sanderson is a fantasy god! ahem…yes I would read the man’s grocery list.

    As for Maas – would you believe i haven’t read her yet – or Scott Lynch – or Rothfuss – I’m so ashamed I must be flogged. YOu have such a great list and all ones I either want to read or have read. I’m on your wavelength dear!

    Like

  3. Urgh I just want to devour your list! 1,2 and 5 are on my “I’m thinking about it” list, I definitely want to try the Mistborn series though. My love for Maas currently knows no bounds – if Celaena and Chaol don’t start making babies soon though I’m going to scream (I’m only halfway through book 2). 6, 8 and 10 are also books that have caught my eye and I drool over them occasionally!!

    R x

    My TTT: https://confessionsofabookgeek.wordpress.com/2014/12/09/top-ten-tuesday-authors-new-to-me-in-2014/

    Like

    • I would definitely recommend the ones on your I’m-thinking-about-it list! I think out of those three Since You’ve Been Gone was my favorite. Or maybe Everything Leads to You. I guess it’s a tie! I’ve only read the first one of the Mistborn trilogy but I loved it so much. It’s some great fantasy.

      I know! I’m ship those two so hard! I finished book 2 but haven’t read the third one yet. I’m waiting for it to arrive ๐Ÿ™‚

      If you like fantasy or anything related to thieves, you should definitely read The Lies of Locke Lamora. And Ari and Dante is on my Top Books of 2014.

      Thanks for stopping by! J x

      Liked by 1 person

      • I always loved HP but wasn’t really aware it is classed as Fantasy, I always shied away from Fantasy thinking it was long-winded, over-descriptive and difficult to read. Then I read TOG and someone told me it’s actually High Fantasy (the maps should have given it away!), so I thought I’d branch out into this Fantasy genre a lot more seeing as how I seem to love it! That’s partly why I want to read Mistborn. I’ll bookmark your post and have it to hand when I’m getting myself a Birthday present! Lol R x

        Like

        • Thank you! I think a lot of people have that misconception. The Lord of the Rings is very descriptive and not easy to read but I think that that is mostly because it is older. I’m thinking of making a fantasy recommendation post soon. I do hope you’ll enjoy your journey into fantasy! ๐Ÿ™‚ J x

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Kasie West and Morgan Matson were also on my TTT list. I just loved the Pivot Point Duology! But I’m secretly wishing that Kasie West will publish some sort of companion series/duology because I think there is so much potential left to explore in that “world”.

    Like

  5. I have heard such good things about Sarah J Maas and I actually have a copy of Throne of Glass on my Kindle, so I think I know what I’m reading soon! I also really want to read The Darkest Minds, Since You’ve Been Gone (ugh, every time I read that title I start singing Kelly Clarkson haha!) and Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets to the Universe – they all look so good! Great list, Jolien! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Kyra @ Blog of a Bookaholic
    My TTT Post!

    Like

    • That song always comes to mind when you hear that title. And then you have to try and stop yourself from singing along ๐Ÿ˜€

      I really loved all of those books! When you and up reading them, we could totally discuss them if you want!

      Thanks Kyra! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  6. Sarah J Maas, and Kasie West are some of my favorite authors, and I really like Brandon Sanderson, Nina LaCour (who almost made my list) and Alex Bracken as well. ๐Ÿ™‚ Great list!
    Here’s my TTT

    Like

  7. I like lots of authors on your list as well! Charlie N. Holmberg is also one of my “discoveries” this year ๐Ÿ˜‰ I am going to get this Sarah J. Maas book right now. Today at work a colleague talked about it and she was super excited and I think I never read anything bad about it ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

