Review: The Spirit Eater (Legend of Eli Monpress #3) by Rachel Aaron

the spirit eater

Title: The Spirit Eater
Author: Rachel Aaron
Series: Legend of Eli Monpress #3
Published: December 1st, 2010 by Orbit
Genre: (high) fantasy
Rating: ★★★★★ – 5 stars

GoodReads | BookDepository

I won’t include a synopsis because this is the third book in the series.

This review is spoiler-free, even if you haven’t read the first book, The Spirit Thief.

Review

Before I talk about the actual story, I just want to dedicate a moment to the cover of this book. This series is absolutely amazing, but the covers are so terrible! I’d never guess this was a high fantasy novel about a wizard thief. I’m guessing that this is supposed to be Nico? Let’s just say that in my head, Nico doesn’t have the time -nor does she care- to put on twenty coats of eyeliner. Just, no. Anyway, let’s talk about the actual book.

This book focuses more on Nico, Eli’s traveling companion. You get to know more about her and her past and most of all, the struggle she faces every day. Nico is a demonseed -not a spoiler, it’s in the description of the first book, I checked- which means that there is a seed of a demon growing inside her. It gives her certain powers like being able to step or flit through shadows and incredible strength but with that comes the knowledge that one day, the seed will overpower her. When that happens, she’ll become an actual demon, which is a creature that eats spirits -and gets stronger with every spirit it eats.

The first book focuses mostly on Eli, the second one on Miranda and this one on Nico. I say mostly because all the other characters obviously still have their POVs, it’s not only told through Nico’s. But she’s more prominent in this one. I don’t know whether that made sense but we’ll just go with it. I really liked getting to know Nico more because like every member of the traveling company, she is just so mysterious! I also felt like it also helped me understand a big part of the world. You get a bit of history in this novel, related to demonseeds.

I also enjoyed the adventure Eli, Nico and Josef take us on in this one. Especially how much intrigue and scheming there was, and how many facts or twists surprised me so much. One of the facts that took me by surprise was Home. I absolutely love the idea of it! I wish it was a place I could actually visit. This series often makes me wish for a TV series adaptation, because there are so many aspects of it that would translate into absolutely beautiful scenery.

I really enjoyed the adventure and characters in this novel! I am just on a journey with Eli and I don’t want it to end. I can’t really say much about it because that would spoil not only this book but the previous ones as well. I am just in awe of the series.

In the beginning, I was a bit confused about all the Councils and so on. You have the League of Storms -who seem terrifying- the Council and the Spirit Court. They all have their separate functions but in this novel you can see how they are all tied together. There is more scheming and plotting from their sides and I feel as if there is also corruption etc. at the top… I am curious to find out what they are all planning and how the character’s stories are going to end.

I would highly recommend this series! I’ve read quite a lot of fantasy but usually, they start with the world-building aspect. I feel as if this series is the other way around. While you accompany the characters on their adventures, you slowly get to learn about the world and its inhabitants which is very intriguing.

One thought on “Review: The Spirit Eater (Legend of Eli Monpress #3) by Rachel Aaron

Leave a Reply

