Review: Seti’s Charm (a Max Carter Adventure) by Chris Everheart

seti's charmTitle: Seti’s Charm
Author: Chris Everheart
Series: A Max Carter Adventure
Published: September 26th, 2014 by Yellow Rocket Media
Genres: middle grade/young adult, archeology, mystery
Rating: ★★★★ – 4/5 stars

GoodReads | BookDepository

I received this book for review from the publisher -via Netgalley- which in no way affects my opinion.

Synopsis: Fourteen-year-old Max Carter has grown up in his grandfather’s museum, training to be the world’s youngest archaeologist. When the museum is robbed and burned by greedy smugglers, Grandpa begs Max to return their prized possession to Egypt and break the curse that caused this disaster. But Seti’s Charm–a priceless funeral amulet from the mummy of Pharaoh Seti I– is in the hands of murderous thugs. While Grandpa lies in a hospital bed and Max’s wicked step-grandmother schemes to turn their life upside down, Max enlists the help of a giant Frenchman with a shady past. Together, they chase Seti’s Charm to a tropical island where Max braves shark-infested waters, machine gun fire, explosions, capture, and torture to learn the shocking true reason that Seti’s Charm was stolen. But will he get the legendary object back and return it to its rightful owners in time to save Grandpa and the only life he’s ever known?

Review

I really enjoy mystery novels that have an archeological aspect. I’ve read many adult-versions of them before and I tend to really like them. I think this was either the first middle grade/young adult novel in that genre or one of the first. And I really liked this one too!

Like most mystery novels, this book is quite fast-paced. It takes you on a journey through several countries trying to find Seti’s Charm and bring it back to Egypt. I really enjoyed the Ancient Egypt aspect of the story, it’s a time and place in our history that interests me to no end. Like I said, this novel is quite fast-paced and keeps you on edge. I feel like I read this so quickly! It’s a story that kept me glued to the screen of my tablet -I have the Kindle app on it- so I could find out whether Max was going to succeed in bringing Seti’s Charm back.

Another aspect I found to be very interesting was the family one. Max’s parents are dead and he is being raised by his grandfather. You can truly see the love and admiration he has for his grandpa from page 1. The respect between them is something I love to read about since family is very important to me. They respect each other as a person and Max absolutely loves his grandfather’s job and museum. He helps out there and wants to become an archeologist himself. But his grandfather also remarried a few years ago, to a woman called Miriam. My hate -and Max’s- for that woman has no boundaries. She just seems like a horrible person! I only wish that we got more of Max’s grandfather in the book, I would have loved to get to know that character too.

I really enjoyed Max’s journey and how he learned more about the world -and himself- along. The only reasons I didn’t give this book 5/5 stars is that two aspects seemed a bit unrealistic to me: firstly, everything Max goes through and does seems a bit to mature for a 14-year-old. And I know that it happens a lot in books. For example, I absolutely adored the Alex Rider series by Anthony Horowitz but that is also about a 15 to 16-year-old boy who is a spy for the British government. Which, to be honest, is unrealistic too. Okay, most mystery-archeology novels are a bit unrealistic. So are most fiction novels. But you get what I mean! The second part is that Max absolutely hates his step-grandmother when he leaves but in the end, he suddenly accepts her and doesn’t hate her anymore. Kind of out of nowhere, which caught me by surprise. But these two aspects don’t take away from how much I enjoyed reading this book.

Overall, I would recommend this book if you enjoy middle grade or young adult mystery books! And if you like to read about ancient Egypt, or archeology, that’s just another bonus. It’s a very quick read that is fast-paced and enjoyable.

3 thoughts on “Review: Seti’s Charm (a Max Carter Adventure) by Chris Everheart

  1. Fantastic review, Jolien! I love books that are fast-paced and contain archaeology as well as it quite interests me. I think if you enjoyed this you must definitely read the Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan, as it also features around Egypt mythology and it’s highly enjoyable! xx

    Like

    • Thanks Kyra! It interests me too. I’d have become an archeologist if most everything wasn’t already discovered -hundreds of years ago, I would have done it, now I thought I would choose something with more job opportunities… I have read the Kane Chronicles, I enjoyed them sooo much! It’s part of why I am so excited for the new Norse myth series: I know he can write any mythology really well 😀 I loved the Greek series and the Egyptian ones as well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

