Review: Glass Houses (Morganville Vampires #1) by Rachel Caine

glass houses

Title: Glass Houses
Author: Rachel Caine
Series: Morganville Vampires #1
Published: October 3rd, 2006 by NAL Jam
Genres: young adult, paranormal, supernatural
Rating: ★★★★ – 4/5 stars

GoodReads | BookDepository

Synopsis: College freshman Claire Danvers has had enough of her nightmarish dorm situation. When Claire heads off-campus, the imposing old house where she finds a room may not be much better. Her new roommates don’t show many signs of life, but they’ll have Claire’s back when the town’s deepest secrets come crawling out, hungry for fresh blood. Will she be able to face the town’s terror or will she drown like everyone else?

Review

As I mentioned in my #FridayReads, I saw the YouTube-series based on this novel about two weeks ago. I loved it so much, it was captivating and interesting and decided then and there that I had to pick this book up. As soon as possible. I’ve read my fair share of vampire books and discovered some that I loved and some that I didn’t like as much. This one ended up being more on the really-liked-it side of the spectrum.

Let’s talk about the plot first. I’m going to be honest, I probably shouldn’t have watched all of the episodes two weeks before reading it. Why, you ask? Because I already knew the -entire- storyline for this novel. My mistake. But even though I knew most of it -some parts are different, but not much- I enjoyed it so much and read it in only like 2 sittings. I was still intrigued by the story even though I already knew what would happen. It’s definitely a fast-paced novel. It even gave me the feeling that everything happened so fast -but not in a bad way- and that Claire’s life must have been turned upside down in a matter of hours.

That leads me to the second part: the characters. I could easily put a face to all of them because I’d seen the actors before and it made the experience even more enjoyable. I really enjoyed reading about the main character Claire, who is incredibly intelligent. I think it’s something that doesn’t get written about enough even though it happens. There are some people out there who go to university by the age of 15 or 16 and finish before most of us even start. I think it can be an incredibly lonely place, because there’s no one of your age and others will probably treat you like a child -because us humans could still learn a lot about showing kindness every day.

Claire was an interesting main character: she made decisions that seemed rational to me and didn’t dramatize everything too much. I also liked her new roommates: Shane, Michael and Eve. They all have their own stories and reasons for living in Morganville and even more so, for living in the Glass House. They’re all quite different as well: Michael is a young musician, Shane a young guy who has been through a terrible tragedy and Eve a goth girl whose family kicked her out -for specific reasons. They all have certain aspects and dimensions that make me want to keep reading, just so I could find out more about them. Side note: the character Monica is absolutely insane. That girl is a psychopath. An actual crazy person who would probably turn serial killer if she were real.

I will definitely continue reading the series! Who knows what they will be up to in the next novel? Also, that ending! I’ll include the YouTube playlist for the series from Geek & Sundry here:

9 thoughts on “Review: Glass Houses (Morganville Vampires #1) by Rachel Caine

  1. I love the Morganville Vampire Series, it is gripping and still holds a place for horror and romance at the same time. Myself as a fan prefer the book series to the actual Web-series. I didn’t believe the acting was gripping enough but for a lower budget web-series they have done well! 🙂 It’s hard not to fall in love with the Glass House residents! x

    Like

  2. Confession: Vampire books terrify me. I read Twilight but that was more romance then anything else. Vampire books generally contain blood and gore which I am not a fan of, so I generally stay away from them. I have got Vampire Academy to review (which I’ve been avoiding) so I’ll have to read that soon! Glad you enjoyed this, Jolien, and fantastic review! 🙂 xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

