#FridayReads December 19th, 2014

It’s the end of the week again which means it’s time for a #FridayReads post! This weekend is the start of a very sad period for me. Don’t get me wrong, I love the holidays. But since I study at a Belgian university, I don’t really get to enjoy Christmas and New Year’s as much as I want. Why? Because January is exam month. We have quite a few exams and the courses are far from easy too so we need every single day to study. The end of this week marks the end of the semester and the beginning of one of the worst months of the year for us. Because of that fact, I won’t be reading all that much during the end of December or January. Maybe I’ll read in the evening or as a break, but don’t expect a ton of reads from me now. I’m sorry!

the book of ivy

Yesterday I picked up The Book of Ivy (The Book of Ivy #1) by Amy Engel. I have heard so many people rave about this one and I was so curious. So far, I’m really enjoying it. I think I’m already getting attached to the characters.

Synopsis: After a brutal nuclear war, the United States was left decimated. A small group of survivors eventually banded together, but only after more conflict over which family would govern the new nation. The Westfalls lost. Fifty years later, peace and control are maintained by marrying the daughters of the losing side to the sons of the winning group in a yearly ritual. This year, it is my turn. My name is Ivy Westfall, and my mission is simple: to kill the president’s son—my soon-to-be husband—and restore the Westfall family to power. But Bishop Lattimer is either a very skilled actor or he’s not the cruel, heartless boy my family warned me to expect. He might even be the one person in this world who truly understands me. But there is no escape from my fate. I am the only one who can restore the Westfall legacy. Because Bishop must die. And I must be the one to kill him

Doesn’t that synopsis sound incredible? This will probably be the only book I’ll be reading this weekend. If I do end up reading another book, I’ll update my status on Goodreads & probably tweet about it. You can find my social media links in the sidebar.

Have you read The Book of Ivy? Let me know whether you liked it or not! But don’t give any spoilers though.

4 thoughts on “#FridayReads December 19th, 2014

  1. Good luck with your exams! That is awful that you need to study over Christmas, but just think that once the exams are done you can read so many wonderful books! The Book of Ivy sounds really good, glad you’re enjoying it. 😀 x

    Like

    • Thank you! And the courses aren’t all very interesting either… I especially HATE corporate finance. IT MAKES NO SENSE.

      True. I shall read all of the books. Even though I only get one week off after the exams. Thank you, if I enjoy it I will make you read it too 😀 x

      Like

  2. Aw it sucks that they make you come back to school with exams! ESPECIALLY ON CHRISTMAS BREAK. IT SHOULD BE A CRIME TO MAKE YOU DO THAT. Anyway, I still hope you get to enjoy a bit of the break, Christmas is seriously my favourite holiday of the year. I haven’t heard of The Book of Ivy–but I sure do hope you enjoy it, girl 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

