Review: More Than This (More Than #1) by Jay McLean

more than this

Title: More Than This
Author: Jay McLean
Series: More Than #1 -companion novels
Published: July 10th, 2013
Genres: new adult, romance, contemporary
Rating: ★★★★ – 4/5 stars

GoodReads | BookDepository

I received this book for review from the publisher -via Netgalley- which in no way affects my opinion.

Synopsis: When Mikayla imagined her prom night, she envisioned a fairy-tale evening full of romance. So when betrayal and tragedy come in quick succession, Mikayla is completely destroyed. Suddenly, everything she loved and everyone she relied on are tragically, irrevocably gone. Jake, a handsome boy she just met, happens to witness her loss. With no one to turn to, Mikayla is forced to depend on this near stranger and his family, and he in turn is determined to take care of her. But Mikayla—thrust into adulthood with no one to guide her—is desperate to contain her grief and hide what she considers to be her weakness. Mikayla and Jake both want more, but despite their growing closeness and intense chemistry, she tries to keep her distance and protect her heart. As he does everything in his power to win her trust, Mikayla must choose between remaining alone and safe or letting love in.

Review

I was so excited when I saw this book on Netgalley. I’d heard good reviews from bloggers and YouTubers who generally share my taste in books. Add that to the fact that I love the new adult genre and you get a incredibly happy and excited me. And while I highly enjoyed this book, there are two aspects that prevent me from giving it 5 stars.

The first thing I have to say about this book is that the main character’s story is incredibly SAD. I felt so bad for her after reading only 20% of the book that I had to go to my roommate and talk about it to her. I cannot even imagine going through all the hurt and loss Mikayla faced. I can’t really specify that because it’s not done in the premise and then I will ruin it for you. Just know, that your feelings will be destroyed after only a few chapters.

On to the characters! I have to say that Mikayla is an incredibly strong woman. After the first betrayal -which would leave me sobbing in the sofa at home- Jake convinced her to not let it destroy her evening and she met some pretty amazing people then and there. Instead of curling up in a ball, which would be reasonable reaction, she kept going. After the tragedy, I can only admire her. Yes, she is devastated and cries for days but at the same time, she still keeps going on with her life. I highly admire her for that. At the end of the book though, she started to annoy me. She had this one idea in her mind, and just stuck to it. Even though she probably knew it wasn’t right nor true, and everyone told her so and it didn’t make her happy she stuck to it. I hate that in people: not being able to admit or see that you are not always right! Aside from that fact, I really enjoyed reading about Mikayla.

And then there is Jake. I absolutely love his person. He is kind, caring, interesting and funny. Basically, he is the good guy every girl wants who also happens to be incredibly handsome and talented -do these people actually exist? The only thing I don’t understand about him is why he became so attached to Mikayla from the first few moments. I mean of course, she is a beautiful girl and he noticed her. But after the tragedy and loss, he almost set his entire life aside for someone who is basically a stranger. Don’t get me wrong, they do get to know each other really well but it seemed a bit weird to me in the beginning, his devotion. Also, I don’t get the reasoning behind the no-kiss thing. If you’ve read this, let me know so we can talk about it!

This book also has some amazing side characters. I adored Lucy -readers represent- and Logan is very interesting as well. James shows some great character development, although you can’t really see the developing part. That probably made no sense to you, I’m sorry. In the beginning, he is a shitty person. Honestly. But he develops so much, he’s just not present in the book during that time. And Megan. I don’t think I have ever met a more disgusting person in my entire -reading- life. IT MAKES ME MAD.

Aside from the previously mentioned aspects that I found a bit strange, I did really love this book. It shows that love is not impossible, no matter what happens. That tragedy and loss can teach you a lot about yourself.

I would recommend this to everyone that either loves new adult or is trying to get into it. If you are a young reader, I would not recommend this to you because it does contain a few graphic scenes.

*I am a BookDepository affiliate, which in no way affects my opinions or reviews.*

3 thoughts on “Review: More Than This (More Than #1) by Jay McLean

Leave a Reply

