Review: Maybe Someday (Maybe #1) by Colleen Hoover

maybe someday

Title: Maybe Someday
Author: Colleen Hoover
Series: Maybe #1
Published: March 18th 2014 by Atria Books
Genres: new adult, romance, contemporary
Rating: ★★★★★ – 5/5 stars

GoodReads | BookDepository

Synopsis: At twenty-two years old, Sydney has a great life: She’s in college, working a steady job, in love with her wonderful boyfriend, Hunter, and rooming with her best friend, Tori. But everything changes when she discovers Hunter’s cheating on her–and she is left trying to decide what to do next. Sydney becomes captivated by Ridge, her mysterious neighbor. She can’t take her eyes off him or stop listening to the passionate way he plays his guitar every evening out on his balcony. And there’s something about Sydney that Ridge can’t ignore, either. When their inevitable encounter happens, they soon find themselves needing each other in more ways than one…

Review

I have heard so many people raving about Colleen Hoover. This summer I decided to pick up Hopeless by her and absolutely loved it. I then continued on with Losing Hope and Finding Cinderella which are both amazing as well. For some reason though, I hadn’t picked up her most well loved ones: Maybe Someday and Ugly Love. Maybe Someday is a novel everyone seems to adore, which ot be honest might be the reason I didn’t pick it up immediately. Hyped up books terrify me! The Maze Runner was a book that everyone loved as well, and I didn’t. The same happened with The Mortal Instruments. But I’m so glad I chose to read this! It was just as good -if not even better- than everyone says it is.

The novel starts when Sydney discovers that her boyfriend -of 2 years I think- has been cheating on her with her best friend -who also happens to be her roommate. Which leaves Sydney with no place to live, no best friend and no boyfriend. Yeah, talk about a horrible day.

Before all this happened, Sydney had been going to her balcony every evening at 8 because that is when her neighbor Ridge, plays the guitar outside. Sydney who is a music lover is mesmerized by the way he plays. This is also how Ridge and Sydney meet. I feel as if I can’t say much about the way the story unfolds or what happens to the characters because that would take away from your reading experience. The only thing I knew before going in was the description which doesn’t really tell you a lot. And I think that might be the reason I enjoyed it this much. I could discover everything myself and was constantly surprised by both the plot and the characters.

I can, however, tell you something about the characters! Not too much though, but a little bit.

First of all, Sydney. I loved her character. Sometimes in romance novels -whether it is young adult or new adult- I get incredibly annoyed by the main character. They tend to make ridiculous decisions and their thought pattern doesn’t make sense AT ALL. With Sydney, I didn’t have that once! I immediately felt a connection to her from the moment I started this book. Being cheated on is one of the worst things ever and the explanation her boyfriend had for the cheating was absolutely RIDICULOUS. Sydney was strong and she moved on with her life. Of course she was sad and cried for a while but to be honest, who wouldn’t? Still, she found a way to combine her passion for music with her dire need for a place to stay and money.

Then there is Ridge. AAAAAH. Ridge is probably the most interesting male character I’ve ever read about. I don’t even know properly show you how much that guy tugged at my heart strings. He has so many facets to him and I kept on discovering new reasons to love him. And his music! There is a soundtrack included by Griffin Peterson if I’m not mistaken so you can listen along to the song when you see the lyrics on the page. Those songs are absolutely beautiful.

I can’t tell you much about Ridge because I feel as if that would be a spoiler too, so I’ll just leave you with this gif right here, which explains my feelings quite well!

tumblr_mcp4d4h0D51r2vl58o1_500 tumblr_nb0fe2OXAq1tjfpseo1_500 1

Everything is this novel is incredible. The characters, the plot, the soundtrack. Everything! You need to read this one.

9 thoughts on “Review: Maybe Someday (Maybe #1) by Colleen Hoover

    • I’m currently so addicted to the song Ugly Love by Griffin Peterson, even though I’ve never read the book.

      I’d never seen that video before! IT’S SO INCREDIBLE. Thank you for sharing it with me Rachel!

      Like

      • Ahhh get on Ugly Love! I gave Maybe Someday 4.5/5 and Ugly Love 5/5, and I LOVE Maybe Someday!!

        I love that video – she’s (I think it’s a she!) is quite talented. She’s done one for Ugly Love too. R x

        Like

        • I’ll check the video out immediately after I read it then, she does seem so talented, the video is incredible. I’m in a contemporary/new adult mood so I might pick it up soon.

          Thank you! Your enthusiasm makes me really excited to read it!

          Like

          • I’ve been hesitant to pick up her older works, but everyone seems to rave about those too. I’m really looking forward to Confess in 2015, she has SUCH original ideas for the romance genre, which often seems bogged down with the same old tropes. I definitely adored Ugly Love. I find with Hoover, there’s one or two things that verge on controversial, but it feels real and you can’t really argue with that. Sigh, I just love her lol R x

            Like

            • I’ve read Hopeless, Losing Hoping & Finding Cinderella by her, they are all from the same companion novel-thing. And I loved them so much! I read them this summer and my mind was honestly blown. She’s one of the best new adult authors I’ve discovered in the past year or two. If you haven’t read those you definitely should! I’m really looking forward to Confess and Never Never in 2015, I have such high hopes.

              I get it, I love her (writing) too 😀 x

              Liked by 1 person

            • Think I’ll have to treat myself to more of her backlist to keep me ticking over in the meantime then. She’s fab – I follow her FB page too, she can be very funny. Yes, and there’s one called November Nine coming out next year too! 2015 is the year of the Hoover for me 🙂 R x

              Like

Leave a Reply

