Review: Midnight Thief (Midnight Thief #1) by Livia Blackburne

midnight thief

Title: Midnight Thief
Author: Livia Blackburne
Series: Midnight Thief #1
Published: July 8th, 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
Genres: Young adult fantasy, paranormal, magical
Rating: ★★★★ – 4/5 stars

GoodReads | BookDepository

Synopsis: Growing up on Forge’s streets has taught Kyra how to stretch a coin. And when that’s not enough, her uncanny ability to scale walls and bypass guards helps her take what she needs. But when the leader of the Assassins Guild offers Kyra a lucrative job, she hesitates. She knows how to get by on her own, and she’s not sure she wants to play by his rules. But he is persistent-and darkly attractive-and Kyra can’t quite resist his pull. Tristam of Brancel is a young Palace knight on a mission. After his best friend is brutally murdered by the Demon Riders, a clan of vicious warriors who ride bloodthirsty wildcats, Tristam vows to take them down. But as his investigation deepens, he finds his efforts thwarted by a talented thief, one who sneaks past Palace defenses with uncanny ease. When a fateful raid throws Kyra and Tristam together, the two enemies realize that their best chance at survival-and vengeance-might be to join forces. And as their loyalties are tested to the breaking point, they learn a startling secret about Kyra’s past that threatens to reshape both their lives.

Review

Midnight Thief was a book was anticipating before its release. It seemed like a great fit for me. First of all, the cover is great and the synopsis? I love fantasy, especially if it involves thieves or an Assassin’s Guild. This novel had all three! I waited quite a while to read it though, after it was released and I don’t really know why. I’d heard from other people that they loved it and from others that they were a bit disappointed. So I decided to go into it without any expectations -which is what you should do with every book. And I really did enjoy it!

First, let’s talk about the storyline. I didn’t really know what to expect here, only that Kyra -a very talented thief- would be hired by the Assassin’s Guild and that she would complicate Tristam’s life -a Palace knight- quite a bit. And somehow, the story would involve Demon Riders. I really did like where the story went although looking back on it I feel as if it was more like a few smaller storylines turned into one? Which is definitely not a bad thing, like I said, I really did enjoy this! I was captivated by it and didn’t want to put it back down. But how do I explain this? I most novels, there is one intention of the main character or one task they want to achieve. And they have setbacks and betrayals and everything that makes a story intriguing but there is still one main intention. In the Midnight Thief, the main intention is also there but for some reason it feels like it’s several smaller ones. I probably explained this in a terrible way but I don’t know how to explain without spoiling you for the story. Let me know if you understood my meaning…

The Demon Riders were so awesome too! At first, I didn’t really understand. Why were they attacking the city and its people? What was happening? What were they? But those questions all get answered in this book, don’t worry. I thought it was a really good concept.

Then there are the characters. First, there’s Kyra. I really enjoyed her character! How she took care of these two other girls that live on the street even though she is poor herself, how she cares for the people around her, how intriguing it was when she went out to steal and just climbed towers like it was nothing. I really enjoyed reading from her point of view and I think she is incredibly brave. But also a bit naive… Usually that bothers me, but now it didn’t. She was really doing what she thought was the right thing and that kind of blinded her to everything else.

Then, there’s Tristam. I loved his character even more than I did Kyra’s! If he were an actual person, he’d be the one you can always count on. The one who thinks that honor, loyalty, friendship and honesty are the most important thing. Even though he’d annoy you sometimes because he seems so effortlessly righteous, you love him for it. That would be Tristam. I feel like that’s all I need to say.

This book also had some incredible side characters! James was intriguing but so disturbing too. I absolutely loathed Bacchus and loved Flick and Bella. They were all weaved into Kyra and Tristam’s story and I really enjoyed it.

I definitely recommend this book! Even if you don’t really read fantasy, this one is quite easy to get into.

-I am a BookDepository affiliate, which in no way affects my opinions-

5 thoughts on “Review: Midnight Thief (Midnight Thief #1) by Livia Blackburne

  1. HAHAHA MY NAME’S KYRA! *flails*

    Kyra sounds like a great character 😉 and so does Tristam! I love fantasy books and I love the concept of this so I’ll definitely be picking this up!

    Glad you enjoyed this and fabulous review, Jolien! 🙂 x

    Like

    • Haha then you should definitely read it 😀
      Don’t go in with raised expectations though, it might lessen your enjoyment of the book (I think that’s why some people didn’t enjoy it).

      I have never read a book where the main character shared my name!

      Thank you so much Kyra! 😀 x

      Like

  2. I want to read this!! I REEEEALLY hope my library gets it because I have heard negative things so I’m dubious. But still! It sounds so good and the premise is awesome and after reading this glowing review I just want to try it more and more! Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

    • I hope you read this too :D. I think that the key is to go into it without expectations! If those are too high then you’ll end up disappointed. I enjoyed it sooo much I hope you do too!

      Thanks for visiting and commenting Cait!

      Like

Leave a Reply

