Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish/Blogger Resolutions

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. It’s almost 2015 -so crazy, right?- which means it’s time to make some New Year’s resolutions! Which we all try so hard to uphold, but let’s be honest, after a few months it always goes downhill. But the point is that we try. And who knows, we might even succeed!

  1. Join at least one reading marathon or sprint.
    I did the Booktube-a-thon in July of 2013 but in 2014 I was actually traveling at that time. The read-a-thons I’ve discovered tend to run at times that are really inconvenient for me like December, June, etc. But this year, I am determined to try and do at least 1.
  2. Have at least 3 posts up per week
    I don’t think I will ever become a blogger who consistently posts every day. At least I won’t be as long as I am in university, it’s impossible for me. But I really want to post at least 3 times a week which seems realistic to me.
  3. Read at least half of every seasonal TBR
    I am horrible with TBRs which is why you will never see me making a monthly one. But I’ve made two seasonal ones with Top Ten Tuesday and to be honest, I’d be surprised if I actually read more than 2 of each. I don’t know why I just can’t seem to stick with them! So I am determined to make a TBR every season and to have read at least half of the books by the end of it.
  4. Do a buddy-read
    I really want to do a buddy-read! They seem like so much fun and you can really enjoy the book and discuss it with someone at the same time. If you want to do one as well, let me know in the comments below!
  5. Do a reading challenge
    This one is a bit broad but I always like to challenge myself. I’m not including my GoodReads goal in this, because I do that every year. I was thinking of doing the Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge over at Falling For YA. Or maybe a series challenge? Like, finish a certain amount of series over the year. I haven’t decided yet! If you have a suggestion, I’d love to hear it.
  6. Read 1 book a month from a genre I neglect
    I definitely have a few genres I tend to stick to -hello, fantasy- and I really want to broaden my reading horizons. I’m challenging myself to read at least 1 book a month from a different genre. For example, historical fiction, adult fiction, realistic fiction, etc.
  7. Read at least 2 classics
    I know that this sounds like a bit of a silly goal. 2 classics isn’t a lot, right? But for me, this will truly be a challenge. I don’t live nor have I grown up in the US or UK so I was never required to read those classics in school. Which means that I am so far behind on them. I tried to start my classics journey with a book that seems to be universally loved: The Great Gatsby. And I hated it. SO MUCH. So now, I don’t have any motivation left to pick up a classic.
  8. Book of the month: Reader’s Choice
    I was thinking of making a poll at the end of every month in which I let you guys/girls choose from a certain set of books. I’d read the book with the most votes during that month and make a review of it. This definitely won’t be happening in January, as that is my exam month and I probably wouldn’t be able to read it anyway. I hope this will still work even though I have a smaller number of readers/followers -yet surprisingly big seeing as I just started out, thank you!

So those are my resolutions for 2015. Do you have any or want to suggest something about mine? Let me know in the comments below, I’d love to find out!

25 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish/Blogger Resolutions

  1. I really want to take part in some readathons and sprints, too 😀 they look like a lot of fun! I hope you have time to take part! and I wish you the best for your reading challenges – there are so many, it’s hard to choose 😛

    I hope you discover lots of great books in 2015 😀

    Like

    • Oh, you should! Reading marathons are so much fun because so many people participate and communicate 😀

      Thank you so much! I hope you have an amazing 2015 -readingwise or not- and that you achieve everything you want to!

      Like

  2. Great goals! I never even attempt to make resolutions. lol. I pretty much stick with 3 posts a week. It’s seems to be the perfect amount without me feeling stressed. That readers choice is a good idea. I might be interested in occasionally doing something like that.

    Like

    • I really enjoyed the reading marathon I did too, it gave me so much motivation! I chose way too many challenges last year and the only one I kept was the Goodreads Reading Challenge… So I’m trying to keep it simple this year. You should definitely try them!

      Thanks for visiting!

      Like

  3. I love doing read-a-thons, I always feel like I’m more in touch with the community when I participate in them. I’m sad that your first dive into the Classics wasn’t a very good experience. I love Pride and Prejudice and To Kill A Mockingbird, maybe you might like them. Also, doing a buddy read would be so much fun! I’m pretty much up for reading just about anything. 🙂
    Great list!

    My TTT
    Alex @ The Book Banner

    Like

  4. Great list, Jolien! If you want to participate in a readathon, there’s Bout of Books which is SO much fun to participate in! You try to read as many books as you can over a week and there’s little challenges and Twitter chats and it’s SO MUCH FUN – you must definitely join in! 🙂

    I’d love to buddy-read with you, I can’t recall ever buddy-reading before but I can imagine it’s a lot of fun! 😛

    I’m participating in the 2015 TBR pile reading challenge hosted by Bookish which helps you read books that have been sitting on your shelf for awhile (they must be released before 2015) and there’s also a read-along hosted every two months. For January we’ll all be reading Throne of Glass and discussions will be posted and such – it looks really fun! 😀

    Best of luck with your goals! 🙂 x

    Like

    • I’d love to participate in Bout of Books, but it’s in January no? I have exams during that time 😦

      I’d LOVE to do a buddread with you! I’ve never done one either, but it’s a simple concept, no? 😀 It would be so much fun!

      That challenge does sound like fun and Throne of Glass is incredible! I hope you’ll have fun in the challenge.

      Thank you so much Kyra! 😀 x

      Like

  5. YES! I so want to participate in a reading marathon too. I think they look fun and if I can read more during them all the better! great list 🙂
    here’s our TTT

    Janhvi @ The Readdicts

    Like

  6. Haha I agree it’s hard to read a classic. I tried reading Pride and Prejudice, but I failed. Then I picked it up after 4 or 5 months later, and that’s when i started enjoying it. I haven’t read The Great Gatsby yet (and I somewhat want to), but then I know it’s going to be a little hard to get used to 😛 I also want to participate in more reading challenges! ❤

    I hope you get to do all these goals! Good luck!!!

    Like

    • I’ve never tried reading Pride and Prejudice but so many people seem to adore it! I should try reading it..

      I hope you enjoy The Great Gatsby a LOT more than I did!

      I really enjoy reading challenges but I’m going to keep it simple this year: the netgalley one and the goodreads reading challenge. I’m only a new blogger and I don’t want to overwhelm myself. :p

      Thank you! I hope you do in yours as well!

      Like

  7. Great goals! I am doing three challenges this year: the 2015 TBR Pile Challenge, a Banned Book Challenge and Book Riot’s Read Harder Challenge. I hope this helps me diversify my reading material without making reading a chore. 🙂

    Like

    • Oh, I’ven never heard of the last two challenges! I will check them out, thank you so much. I agree, you can’t take on too many challenges because then reading = stress.

      I hope you’ll succeed in all of your challenges!

      Like

Leave a Reply

