Top Ten Tuesday: Anticipated 2015 Debut Novels

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week, you make a list of ten books surrounding a certain topic.This week is all about 2015 debuts! I’ll be showing 10 of the debut novels of 2015 that I can’t wait to read.

Side note: because I found this such an inspiring topic, I’ll follow this Top 10 post up with another one about anticipated debut novels. I know, that’s cheating. Sorry!

the boy next door the last leaves falling playlist for the dead an ember in the ashes unspeakable

  1. The Boy Next Door by Katie Van Ark
    In this intensely romantic novel from Swoon Reads, Maddy falls in love with her skating partner—who is also the boy next door.
  2. The Last Leaves Falling by Sarah Benwell
    Japanese teenager, Sora, is diagnosed with ALS (Lou Gehrig’s disease). Lonely and isolated, Sora turns to the ancient wisdom of the samurai for guidance and comfort.
  3. Playlist for the Dead by Michelle Falkoff
    A teenage boy tries to understand his best friend’s suicide by listening to the playlist of songs he left behind in this smart, voice-driven debut novel.
  4. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
    Set in a terrifyingly brutal Rome-like world, An Ember in the Ashes is an epic fantasy debut about an orphan fighting for her family and a soldier fighting for his freedom. It’s a story that’s literally burning to be told.
  5. Unspeakable by Abbie Rushton
    Megan doesn’t speak. She hasn’t spoken in months. Pushing away the people she cares about is just a small price to pay. Because there are things locked inside Megan’s head – things that are screaming to be heard – that she cannot, must not, let out.

waiting for unicorns because you'll never meet me 7 days we all looked up red queen

  1. Waiting for Unicorns by Beth Hautala
    “After her mother dies, twelve-year-old Talia McQuinn goes to the Arctic with her father, a whale researcher. Over the course of one summer, and through several unlikely friendships, Talia learns that stories have the power to connect us, to provide hope, and to pull us out of the darkness”
  2. Because You’ll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas
    Ollie and Moritz are best friends, but they can never meet. Ollie is allergic to electricity. Contact with it causes debilitating seizures. Moritz’s weak heart is kept pumping by an electronic pacemaker. If they ever did meet, Ollie would seize. But Moritz would die without his pacemaker.
  3. Seven Days by Eve Ainsworth
    Jess’s life is difficult enough without Kez picking on her – it’s turning school from a safe place into a nightmare. Kez has plenty of problems too but she finds comfort in knowing she is better off than Jess – or so she thinks. A hard-hitting and even-handed look at bullying and the issues facing teenagers today.
  4. We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach
    Four high school seniors put their hopes, hearts, and humanity on the line as an asteroid hurtles toward Earth in this contemporary novel.
  5. Red Queen (Red Queen #1) by Victoria Aveyard
    The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers. To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change. Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre of those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.

This is my Top 10 list for this week. As I mentioned before, I’m going to put up another post soon with more 2015 debuts I want to read. As always, if you’ve made a list, I’d love to see it!

P.S. I love that -aside from 1- these are all standalone novels. I have way too many series I haven’t finished already!

29 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Anticipated 2015 Debut Novels

  1. I hadn’t heard of Waiting for Unicorns yet! GOING TO GOODREADS FOR THAT ONE. Ohhh my gawsh, though, these are epic. I’m so excited for Ember in the Ashes and Playlist for the Dead! Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

  2. YUS RED QUEEN! IT IS ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC JOLIEN I HOPE YOU LOVE IT AS MUCH AS I DO. An Ember in the Ashes seems to be on everyone’s lists. I am excited about that one too.

    Great list, girl! <33

    Like

  3. I hadn’t even heard of We All Looked Up, but ooh it sounds so good. I think I’ll want to know how it ends before I decide to read it, so maybe it’ll have to wait until 2015. I can’t handle that kind of suspense and I hate apocalypse stories, but it sounds like a good book.

    Ahh, what to do?!

    Like

Leave a Reply

