Review: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

ugly loveTitle: Ugly Love
Author: Colleen Hoover
Standalone novel
Published: August 5th, 2014 by Atria Books
Genres: new adult, romance, contemporary
Rating: ★★★★★ – 5/5 stars

GoodReads | BookDepository

Synopsis: When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she knows it isn’t love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her. Never ask about the past. Don’t expect a future. They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated.
Promises get broken.
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.

Review

This is the second Colleen Hoover book I read in the December, and I believe the 5th one I read in 2014. To be honest, at this point I’m starting to think Colleen Hoover can do no wrong. Her new adult stories are always gripping, really well written, the romance is well developed, the characters are incredible (or incredibly broken) but most of all, they tug at your heart strings.

In Ugly Love, you get to read from both Tate’s and Miles’ perspectives BUT what’s unique here is that you read Tate’s perspective in the present while Miles’ one is 6 years earlier. From the synopsis you can already tell something bad happened to Miles, because of his two rules: Never ask about the past. Don’t expect a future. And while you read his perspective, it’s like watching a train wreck. You know it’s going to happen but you just can’t look away.

I really loved the romance in this story. It was so well developed! But mostly, I loved the characters. As with any Colleen Hoover novel, the characters are absolutely amazing. They feel so real, which is why her stories are so heartbreaking. I can actually see the reality in this book.

I find it hard to review some new adult books -like this one- because I’m so restricted in what I can say. You need to go into these stories knowing nothing more than the synopsis, so you can figure it all out yourself. And I don’t want to ruin that experience for anyone that wants to read this book but hasn’t.

I would highly recommend this book, but keep in mind that as it is a new adult story, it does contain mature content. I’ll leave you with a song by Griffin Peterson about this book -he also wrote the soundtrack for Maybe Someday- and you can find his song Ugly Love here.

10 thoughts on “Review: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

  1. I’ve heard amazing things about Colleen Hoover’s books! I’ll read them when I’m older though as they are NA and probably slightly inappropriate for me now haha! This is a fantastic review and I’m so glad you enjoyed it! 🙂 x

    Like

    • You definitely shouldn’t read NA if you don’t feel comfortable with the more mature content, i’d wait until you’re somewhat older as well :D. I’m 20 though so I am the lucky person who can identify with YA and NA 😀

      Thanks! ❤

      Like

  2. Ooh I am glad that this is a NA romance that worked for you, Jolien! I don’t read a lot of NA but I’ve been wanting to read Colleen Hoover’s books for a while now!

    Fantastic review, hun <33

    Like

Leave a Reply

