The Reader Problems Tag

Reader Problems

Hi everyone! Today I am doing the Reader Problems Tag. I was tagged by the lovely Lola @ Hit or Miss Books -thanks Lola!- and if you haven’t checked out her blog yet, I’d highly recommend you doing so! Let’s get on to the questions!

  1. You have 20.000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?
    Well, I usually have two ways of deciding what to read next! One is to go to my Goodreads to-read shelf and sort them by “Random”. Then I refresh and refresh until I find something I want to read. Or if I’m feeling like reading a particular genre -like fantasy- I’ll go to either my to-read shelf or listopia and find a book from that genre that I own and feel like reading.
  2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or commit?
    It depends. Sometimes I decide to continue with the book -for example, if it is a mystery book- to know who committed the crime in the end. But sometimes, I give up too. If there’s nothing really holding my interest, I’ll DNF.
  3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?
    To be honest, I haven’t come across this situation yet. I tend to set my goals at around 100, and normally I’ll read more. I do it because I don’t like feeling stressed out because I’m nowhere near my goal. It makes reading stressful instead of enjoyable. However, I probably would read a lot of graphic novels or romance stories (new adult/ young adult) because they tend to be fast reads.
  4. The covers of a series you love do. not. match. How do you cope?
    I’ll cringe a bit when I look at my bookshelf but that’s about as far as it gets. Most of my books are ebooks however, so I don’t often have that problem. I won’t re-buy the books to get matching covers -unless my old books have fallen apart from reading them too often- because well, I’m not rich.
  5. Everyone and their mother love a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?
    Like Lola, I’ll probably go on Goodreads and look up others who have disliked the book. Or I’ll have a mini-rant to my best friend or my mom -even though they might not have read it. Sometimes, you just gotta let someone rant.
  6.  You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?
    I don’t often cry over books -so when I do, it means it’s a heartbreaking book- and I don’t often read in public either. If I would be reading in public and I’d feel the tears coming, I’d blink really fast for a few seconds and stop reading until I’m home.
  7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?!
    Most often, I won’t re-read the book. There is however an incredible blog called The Recaptains who recap books in series in detail -so you won’t miss out on anything. They also have the lay-out done really well so if they post a new recap and you haven’t read the book, you’re in no danger of seeing spoilers unless you click on READ MORE.
  8. You do not want anyone. ANYONE. Borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?
    Luckily, people don’t often ask to borrow my books. I’ll lend my books to a certain set of people -like my best friends- because I know they’ll take care of them and I’ll get them back as well.
  9. Reading ADD. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?
    Sometimes, I just have to wait it out. Other times, I can make it go away by reading either one of my favorite books again or by picking up a NA/YA contemporary novel.
  10. There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?
    I usually buy my books as an ebook -because it’s cheaper- but I don’t always buy every single new release I want to read. It depends on which ones I want the most.
  11. After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long they sit on your shelf before you get to them?
    It can depend. Sometimes I pick them up immediately, other times it’ll be a month or even a year. I’m a mood-reader so I won’t pick up a book unless I REALLY feel like reading it!

This was so much fun! Thank you Lola for tagging me, I really enjoyed writing this. I’m tagging:

Paper Fury

Blog of a Bookaholic

Books of Amber

You’re under absolutely no obligation to make this tag! I just thought I’d be fun to see it from you all 🙂

17 thoughts on “The Reader Problems Tag

  1. Ooh, I’ve never heard of the Recaptains – I’ll DEFINITELY be using them from now on! 😀 I like your method for choosing what to read next, I should probably consider doing something like that. Thank you so much for tagging me – I’m going to type up the post right now! 😀 xxx

    Like

    • Spreading the word -like a pro 😀

      Haha, my method is totally random! That’s why I love it. It’s like listening to music and hitting “next” constantly while shuffle is on.

      I look forward to reading it! 😀 ❤

      Like

  2. This is sooo AWESOME. And I really want to do this one. 😄
    The Recaptains are LIFESAVERS. Seriously. I have used them so much. 😉
    I do the same when I read a book that everyone loves! Sometimes I rant to my mother, but I’m sure she only gets about half of what I’m saying since she doesn’t read YA. And I often read some negative reviews on Goodreads to make myself feel better. lol Then I try and let it go. 😄

    Like

    • When I rant to my mom or best friend, they usually haven’t read the book either! So I’m just standing there, talking loudly and incoherently and they are sitting there like “yeah… sure…”. But it helps anyway 😀

      I know, they ARE lifesavers! Especially for long series.

      I am SO excited to see your answers 😀

      Like

  3. I’d probably DNF too if there’s nothing holding my interest..I hate quitting on books though because it feels like I’ve wasted my time but at the same time committing to a book I’m not liking is like torture… || I don’t face that problem with book covers either 😛 I read on my Kindle so I rarely get to enjoy or cringe at “physical” book covers… || I don’t cry over books often either! 😀 But I’d probably switch to another book if I felt like I was about to… (I couldn’t resist commenting on a few of your answers – hope you don’t mind the long comment!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

