Top Ten Tuesday: 2014 Releases I Didn’t Get To

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week, you make a list of ten books surrounding a certain topic. This week, I’m showing you 10 of the 2014 releases I meant to read, but didn’t get to. This happens to me a lot. I’d be really excited to read a book, but then postpone it -for no reason at all. Anyway, let’s get into the list!

the winner's cursethe young elites they all fall down snow like ashes talon

  1. The Winner’s Curse (The Winner’s Trilogy #1) by Marie Rutkoski
    As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions. One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction. Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin. But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined.
  2. The Young Elites (Young Elites #1) by Marie Lu
    “I am tired of being used, hurt, and cast aside. It is my turn to use. My turn to hurt.
  3. They All Fall Down by Roxanne St. Claire
    Every year, the lives of ten girls at Vienna High are transformed. All because of the list. This is the power of the list. If you’re on it, your life changes. If you’re on it this year? Your life ends.
  4. Snow Like Ashes (Snow Like Ashes #1) by Sara Raasch
    Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since. Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winterians’ general, Sir. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend, and future king, Mather — she would do anything to help her kingdom rise to power again.
  5. Talon (Talon #1) by julie Kagawa
    Long ago, dragons were hunted to near extinction by the Order of St. George, a legendary society of dragon slayers. Hiding in human form and growing their numbers in secret, the dragons of Talon have become strong and cunning, and they’re positioned to take over the world with humans none the wiser.

lies we tell ourselves heir of fire half a king blood of my blood guardian

  1. Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley
    In 1959 Virginia, the lives of two girls on opposite sides of the battle for civil rights will be changed forever. Sarah Dunbar is one of the first black students to attend the previously all-white Jefferson High School. An honors student at her old school, she is put into remedial classes, spit on and tormented daily. Linda Hairston is the daughter of one of the town’s most vocal opponents of school integration. She has been taught all her life that the races should be kept “separate but equal.”
  2. Heir of Fire (Throne of Glass #3) by Sarah J. Maas
    I really want to read this one! WHY HAVEN’T I?
  3. Half a King (Shattered Sea #1) by Joe Abercrombie
    “I swore an oath to be avenged on the killers of my father. I may be half a man, but I swore a whole oath” Prince Yarvi has vowed to regain a throne he never wanted. But first he must survive cruelty, chains and the bitter waters of the Shattered Sea itself. And he must do it all with only one good hand. Born a weakling in the eyes of his father, Yarvi is alone in a world where a strong arm and a cold heart rule. He cannot grip a shield or swing an axe, so he must sharpen his mind to a deadly edge.
  4. Blood of my Blood (Jasper Dent #3) by Barry Lyga
    I really enjoyed the first two books. Yet again, I have absolutely no reason as to why I haven’t read this one. I just haven’t.
  5. Guardian (Proxy #2) by Alex London
    I was anticipating this book so hard but when it came out, I never got around to actually reading it. I think it’s because I don’t know whether I can deal with/get over the consequences of the end of the first book…

I’m going to be honest, this list could probably consist of more than 100 books. I have so many books that I want to read, and every year my to-read shelf on GoodReads gets larger. And I don’t even add every book I want to read on there. It’s kind of scary actually.

Have you made a list? Let me know in the comments below, I’d love to read it! Also, if you have read any of these books, what did you think of them? I’m always interested in hearing your -spoiler free- opinions!

31 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 2014 Releases I Didn’t Get To

  1. I also want to read Talon, The Winner’s Curse, Snow Like Ashes and The Young Elites. THEY LOOK SO GOOD and their covers are so pretty! *strokes*

    Like

  2. LOVED Snow Like Ashes and The Winner’s Curse and Heir of Fire last year!! They are all such good reads! I should have remembered to put Talon and The Young Elites on my list as well as Half a King, they’re all books I’m looking forward to reading. I hope you read and enjoy all the books on your list this year 🙂

    My TTT

    Like

  3. Half a King was very good – it was my first Abercrombie and it’s YA so he’s not dropping the ‘f’ bomb everywhere. It doesn’t apparently have the grimdark feel of his First Law Trilogy (apparently) but it was great for a first book!
    I do like the look of the Kagawa book – a lovely cover!
    Lynn 😀

    Like

  4. I pretty much agree with every book you’ve posted – there are just so many to get to!! I’ve never been attracted to Talon though for some reason…I’m not a massive ‘dragon’ fan 😦 Lovely blog by the way, I’m a new follower 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

