Review: Lane Changes (PI Cassie Cruise #1) by S.L. Ellis

lane changesTitle: Lane Changes
Author: S.L. Ellis
Series: PI Cassie Cruise #1
Published: December 20th, 2014
Pages: 264
Genres: mystery
Rating: ★★ ½ – 2.5/5 stars

Goodreads | BookDepository

I received this book for review from the publisher – via Netgalley- which in no way affects my opinion.

Synopsis: Cassie Cruise wants her life back as a kick-ass P.I. Trouble is, she has zero credibility since bungling a case on reality TV. After a public tantrum, she slinks off to bury her head in the sandy beaches of Southwest Florida. Just as she starts over as the owner of The Big Prick Tattoo Shop, a body is discovered in the trunk of her burning car. Cassie’s aware there are those who’d get in line for their turn to torch her car. But murder? You don’t have to like her, but you damn well better respect her. And get out of her way—this is one case she intends to solve, with or without an audience.

Review

I was really hoping to love this one! I tend to like mystery books, especially if it’s told through the perspective of a female P.I./bounty hunter/investigator. They tend to be funny and highly enjoyable. Unfortunately, I didn’t really like this one.

I’ll start by saying that the only reason I didn’t DNF this book is because I was curious about the murder. I wanted to know who did it! That aspect of the book was definitely interesting. I was convinced I knew who did it in the beginning but I DIDN’T. Took me by surprise I have to say. The investigation part -although weird and a tad creepy- was intriguing too. I got to go along with Cassie as she uncovered the mystery piece by piece.

To be honest, the reason I didn’t really like this book was the main character. I disliked Cassie so much that it actually bothered me while reading. I had to stop on several accounts just to roll my eyes or breathe deeply to calm myself. I’m just going to say it: Cassie is a bitch. And there is a difference between being bitchy sometimes and being one full-time. Cassie was the latter. She was rude and mean to absolutely everyone even the people she loves. She is judgmental and instantly has a judgement ready about someone without even bothering to get to know them. And the way she just has to stick her nose into everyone’s lives. IT DRIVES ME CRAZY. Lady, that is absolutely NONE of your business. I just couldn’t deal with it.

Also, there is no mention of Cassie’s age in the description and after I looked at the cover, I assumed she’d be in her 20s/30s. She’s not though. I think she’s in her fifties. And there is definitely nothing wrong with a main character of that age, that’s not what I’m saying. I just wasn’t expecting it and since I am 20 myself, it’s harder for me to relate to Cassie.

I am the first person to give this book a lowish rating though. I’ve seen other reviews on Goodreads and they all seemed to love this book. Maybe it’s worth giving it a go, maybe you won’t find the main character as infuriating as I did.

3 thoughts on “Review: Lane Changes (PI Cassie Cruise #1) by S.L. Ellis

  1. Huh this looked like a really fun mystery novel but I don’t think I’d like this book either if the main character annoyed you.

    Lovely honest review, hun! <33

    Like

Leave a Reply

