#FridayReads January 16th, 2015

Hi everyone! I’m back with another Friday Reads post to  show you what I’ll be reading this weekend. As I have mentioned multiple times -I’m sorry if you’re sick of hearing it- I am in the midst of exams so I’m reading less than I usually do. And stressing a lot more. Anyway, let’s get on to the book I’m reading!

girl of fire and thorns

I am currently reading The Girl of Fire and Thorns (Fire and Thorns #1) by Rae Carson. I bought a physical copy of this book I think in November/December of 2014 and it has been sitting on my shelf staring at me. I had heard so many glowing reviews about it and finally decided to see whether I share their opinions. I’m about a third of the way through and I’m LOVING it. It has so many aspects that should be featured more often in novels, but I’ll talk about that when I finish it and write a review.

Synopsis: Once a century, one person is chosen for greatness. Elisa is the chosen one. But she is also the younger of two princesses, the one who has never done anything remarkable. She can’t see how she ever will. Now, on her sixteenth birthday, she has become the secret wife of a handsome and worldly king—a king whose country is in turmoil. A king who needs the chosen one, not a failure of a princess. And he’s not the only one who seeks her. Savage enemies seething with dark magic are hunting her. A daring, determined revolutionary thinks she could be his people’s savior. And he looks at her in a way that no man has ever looked at her before. Soon it is not just her life, but her very heart that is at stake. Elisa could be everything to those who need her most. If the prophecy is fulfilled. If she finds the power deep within herself. If she doesn’t die young. Most of the chosen do.

This is such a good novel, I hope it won’t fall flat in the middle or end.

I would love to see what you are reading this weekend! You could let me know in the comments below. Happy reading!

8 thoughts on “#FridayReads January 16th, 2015

  1. Oh, The Girl of Fire and Thorns. It’s been SO long since I read it. I think I was 13 at that time. Enjoyed the book, it was original, but so slow. So slow. I always DNFed it…but the story is good in characterization. Just the plot that doesn’t seem to want to budge. Lol

    Like

  2. This sounds like a really interesting novel! I find the concept of a chosen one based on a prophecy very intriguing, especially when that chosen one is an underdog of some sorts. 🙂
    I’m currently reading The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith. I’m not that far in yet, but I’m already getting sucked into the story!

    Like

Leave a Reply

