Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d Love to Buddy-Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted byΒ The Broke and the Bookish. Every week, you make a list of ten books surrounding a certain topic. This week, I’m showing you the 10 books I’d love to buddy-read. Actually, the topic is Top Ten Books You’d Love to Read With Your Bookclub, but I figured this was kind of the same and a buddy-read is far more likely to happen than me making a bookclub. Besides, one of my 2015 resolutions was to do a buddy-read. So here we go.

TTT27 TTT27p2

  1. Blood Song (Raven’s Shadow #1) by Anthony Ryan
  2. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
  3. The Bone Season (The Bone Season #1) by Samantha Shannon
  4. Outlander (Outlander #1) by Diana Gabaldon
  5. Promise of Blood (Powder Mage #1) by Brian McClellan
  6. The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicles #1) by Patrick Rothfuss
  7. Warbreaker (Warbreaker #1) by Brandon Sanderson
  8. The Way of Kings (The Stormlight Archive #1) by Brandon Sanderson
  9. Theft of Swords (Riyria Revelations #1-2) by Michael J. Sullivan
  10. Under the Dome by Stephen King

So these are the books I’d love to buddy read. Mostly fantasy since they tend to be quite thick and there would be so much to discuss. If you would like to buddy read one of these with me, be sure to let me know! I’d love to do one -although it would be the first time.

Feel free to leave the link to your TTT post in the comments, I love to see your lists πŸ™‚

37 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’d Love to Buddy-Read

    • I’m up for a buddy-read anytime! Except what’s left of January, the latter part of May and the month of June :p. Maybe I will make a post in February calling for people to buddy read or something? Then we can join together!

      Like

  1. I know it’s not on your list this week, but I saw on your homepage that you’ve been thinking about rereading RETURN OF THE KING. If you wanted to do a buddy read of that book, let me know; I’m currently on THE HOBBIT, but the plan is to work my way through rereading THE LORD OF THE RINGS. I’d love to buddy-read it with someone, because I have a lot of feelings.

    Like

  2. Ooh The Bone Season is truly excellent! I hope you enjoy that one, Jolien. I still need to read Outlander–which everyone seems to be raving about!

    Like

  3. The Name of the Wind is a really good book, long, but totally worth the read! I’ve heard that The Bone Season is a book that I should read, I’m not sure exactly what it’s about but I had several people tell me that I’d like it. Maybe we can buddy read that together. πŸ™‚

    My TTT
    Alex @ The Book Banner

    Like

  4. I need to book-club or buddy-read a Sanderson book. I HAVE NEVER READ ONE. I feel like this is a huge fantasy taboo and I do love fantasy. This year I’m going to try and fix this Sanderson shaped hole in my life. x)

    Like

  5. You should definitely pick up Outlander with Claudia. It is a good book and would make a good buddy read.
    I have Theft of Swords wbr so anytime you feel like picking it up then let me know!!
    Lynn πŸ˜€

    Like

  6. I love that you did a buddy-read list instead! That probably would’ve been a better idea for my own, lol, I had such trouble getting a grasp on this week’s topic. Of the ones that I’ve read (Sanderson, Rothfuss, The Night Circus, Outlander), those would definitely ALL be great buddy reads!! So much to talk about, and for the longer ones (um, all but Night Circus…), a buddy would be great to have as a fellow cheerleader to power through the books. πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • Thank you!

      I’ve never really been in a book club, so it was quite hard for me to grasp as well, I figured a buddy-read was close enough! I so want to do a buddy-read, not only so I can discuss it with someone but as you said, because it gives you the courage to pick up those incredibly long ones… Kind of like a gym-buddy!

      Thanks for the visit πŸ˜€

      Like

  7. I love The Night Circus. It’s such a beautiful book. I think Outlander would make a good choice for a buddy read. Like Claudia, looking at how long the book is, I think reading it with other people would give me extra motivation. Maybe we can have a mini book club πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. I absolutely love the Bone Season and The Night Circus; I think you’ll really enjoy them. Also, the Mime Order just came out today so now is the perfect time to pick the Bone Season up =)

    I really need to read Blood Song, the Name of the Wind, and Brandon Sanderson books; I feel like as a massive fantasy fan, it’s kind of sad that I haven’t picked those up yet.

    Like

  9. Outlander for sure! My coblogger and I still talk about that one together. Soooo much to discuss! And The Bone Season is interesting, a whole lot going on, some of it confusing. Having a buddy might be useful.

    Like

  10. The Night Circus was an amazing read and I hope that you will get to pick it up soon. I’d really like to read The Bone Season and I hope that I’ll find someone to buddy read it with!

    Great list. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

