Review: The Cartoon Introduction To Climate Change by Yoram Bauman & Grady Klein

cartoon introduction

Title: The Cartoon Introduction to Climate Change
Authors: Yoram Bauman & Grady Klein
Standalone
Published: June 5th, 2014 by Island Press
Pages: 216
Genres: Non-fiction, graphic novel, science
Rating: ★★★★ – 4/5 stars

Goodreads | Bookdepository

Synopsis: Climate change is no laughing matter, but maybe it should be. The topic is so critical that everyone, from students to policy-makers to voters, needs a quick and easy guide to the basics. The Cartoon Introduction to Climate Change entertains as it educates, delivering a unique and enjoyable presentation of mind-blowing facts and critical concepts. “Stand-up economist” Yoram Bauman and award-winning illustrator Grady Klein have created the funniest overview of climate science, predictions, and policy that you’ll ever read. You’ll giggle, but you’ll also learn, about everything from Milankovitch cycles to carbon taxes. If those subjects sound daunting, consider that Bauman and Klein have already written two enormously successful cartoon guides to economics, making the notoriously dismal science accessible to countless readers.

Disclaimer

I received this book from the publisher via Netgalley, in return for an honest review, which does not affect my opinion. I am a Bookdepository affiliate. If you do not wish to, you don’t have to use the link I provided.

Review

One of my challenges for this year was to read more books from genres I’ve been neglecting. I’m so happy, I think I’ve been doing really well on this challenge. I don’t read non-fiction often. Why, you ask? Well, I go to class at university. Pretty much the last thing I feel like doing when I get back home is learning more. Plus, non-fiction books are often quite hard to get through and can seem a bit heavy. This definitely wasn’t!

It’s aimed to younger readers who know -next to- nothing about climate change, but would like to learn. And while I thought that I had at least some knowledge about it, I think this book proved me wrong. I learned SO MUCH from it. And because it is a graphic novel too, you get to see examples or most often, it helps you understand the scientific explanations. Often, people that are expert in a certain field find it hard to teach beginners about it. Knowledge that seems so logic to them -like everyone should know it- may not like that for the rest of us. This definitely wasn’t the case here. A TOTAL beginner or really young kid could understand -most- of this book. 

It’s divided into different parts and every part into chapters. It slowly introduces you to what climate change is, how it came to be, predictions for the future and at the end, possible solutions. To be honest, this book kind of scared me. I feel like after reading this I’m ready to start an entire organization just to let people know we’re killing ourselves by not limiting this problem. And I am not a protest/rally kind of person. Yet now, I am kind of afraid for the future. 

I would definitely recommend this book! Even if you don’t really read non-fiction, which I don’t, I’d recommend this. I feel like everyone should educate themselves about the subject and the graphic novel part is just an added bonus.

One thought on “Review: The Cartoon Introduction To Climate Change by Yoram Bauman & Grady Klein

Leave a Reply

