Calling for Buddy-Reads

Hello everyone! Last week, I made a Top 10 Tuesday post talking about the 10 books I’d like to buddy read. You guys left me some amazing comments! I noticed there was definitely some interest in buddy reads for a few particular books. So I decided to make this post for one purpose: TO HAVE SOME BUDDY READS.

If you want to buddy-read any of these books with me -and possibly others- go ahead and leave a comment with a link to your blog and of course the book you’d like to buddy read. Afterwards, we will try to work out a period in which to do the buddy-read and how we’ll communicate and discuss etc. with the people that want to join. If you know anyone who does not follow my blog and therefore may not see this post but would love to join in: spread the word! You do not have to be a follower of my blog at all to join in the fun.

the bone season

So the first book that was most-requested for a buddy read was The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon. By the way, I didn’t actually count the comments in favor of these books, they aren’t in any order.

I’ve been wanting to read The Bone Season for such a long time, but it’s a bit intimidating and there seems to be a lot about this story. So it may make for a great buddy-read! So yeah, if you are interested in reading this with me/others, go ahead and leave a comment!

outlander

The second book which was most requested was Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. I think that this might have been the most requested out of all of them. This book has been talked about so often in the past year, especially since the TV series started. I haven’t seen it, so all I know about the story is what is included in the premise.ย 

If you’d like to buddy-read Outlander, go ahead and leave a comment!

s-typeopts13

There wasn’t as much interest in this one than the two previous ones, but I still felt like I should mention it, because I do want to buddy-read it, whether it’s with one person or with 5. So the third book is Theft of Swords by Michael J. Sullivan. This is one of the fantasy books I can’t believe I haven’t read yet. Honestly.ย 

Same story as the two previous picks: if you’d like to join me in reading Theft of Swords you can leave a comment!

silmarillion

So the last book I’ll be mentioning today is The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien. I know, I didn’t feature this on the Top 10 list I mentioned previously. BUT Rose North from perfect worry mentioned that she’d like to buddy-read this one. I love everything Middle Earth related but either I haven’t read this one yet or I read it so long ago that I can’t even remember…

Again, if you’d like to buddy read this one, leave a comment down below!

Some practical stuff

This is the first buddy-read I will ever do, so forgive my inexperience! I haven’t decided whether we should hold the discussions on Goodreads or in a Voxer or Whatsapp kind of app. If you have any suggestions, please leave them down below, even if you don’t want to join in!

Second point: WHEN? I have no idea how many people will want to join or when you all have time but I think it’d be sometime from March on. Once we have an idea on how many people will join and have figured out a way of communicating, we can see whether there’s a date that would fit everyone/most people.

If you have ANY suggestions, please leave them down below! I’ve never done/organized anything like this before so I could probably use them.

10 thoughts on “Calling for Buddy-Reads

  1. I’d be up for The Bone Season or Outlander! I do joint reads and reviews quite a lot now, so depending on how many are interested I could help out with organisation! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  2. Sign me up for an Outlander mini book club! I took part in a readalong last year and the person running it started a group on goodreads to discuss each chapter. This might be a good idea for how you, Claudia, and I can read together (and anyone else who might want to join).

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I actually really wanna read ‘The Silmarillion’, but I haven’t gotten the book yet, so I wouldn’t be able to read it just now. I hope you find someone to read it with! I think it’s a good use of a blog post to find buddy readers.

    – Love, Felicia

    Like

  4. Oh yay! I’m so thrilled you took initiative in this; I would not have known how to approach the idea as my thoughts are currently occupied with my littles ha ha! But yeah, sign me up for Outlander by Diana Gabaldon! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

