Top Ten Tuesday: My Favorite Heroines

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week, you make a list of ten books surrounding a certain topic. This week I’ll be talking about my favorite kick-ass women! This is such an incredible topic, I love a good female lead!

Hermione Granger

Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling | Goodreads
Okay, I just had to start the list off with Hermione. Having grown up reading the Harry Potter books, she was the first female fictional character I looked up to. She is incredibly smart, brave, extremely loyal to her friends, kind and down to earth. She is pretty much everything a human being should be. As a sidenote, I also adore Emma Watson. I feel as if the same description would apply to her as well.

Meg Corbyn

The Others series by Anne Bishop | Goodreads
As I’ve mentioned several times before, The Others is one of my all-time favorite series. And a big reason for that is Meg. She is just an incredible main character. She is kind, strong, incredible innocent -but not in an annoying way- and she will pretty much do anything to help the people she considers to be friends/family. You NEED to read this series if you haven’t.

Annabeth Chase

Percy Jackson & The Olympians/Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan | Goodreads
I know that Annabeth is also a very obvious choice. But I just couldn’t not include her. Along with Harry Potter, this series shaped my childhood. If you haven’t read them, where the hell have you been? Go read them!

Elisa

The Girl of Fire and Thorns trilogy by Rae Carson | Goodreads
I chose Elisa because I find her to be truly unique as a female main character. She is not a master at swordplay or a strategist. She didn’t train her entire life to develop certain skills. She isn’t a thief or an assassin. Yes, she is a princess and was gifted with the Godstone so she has a destiny but she feels like a normal girl I could relate to. She feels as if she’s not good enough, a bit overweight, in the shadows of others, etc.

Celaena Sardothien

Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas | Goodreads
Of course, Celaena had to be on this list. I’m not going to go into this any more because I’m pretty sure all/most of you will understand why she is on my list.

Vin

The Mistborn trilogy by Brandon Sanderson | Goodreads
I really loved The Final Empire when I read it last year -I believe- and aside from the amazing fantasy world, the reason for that was the characters. I loved them all. Vin is just so resourceful! No matter the situation she ends up in, she’ll find herself a way out of it -with minimal damage. I absolutely love her -and the book- so I have to continue with the trilogy soon!

Cinder/Cress

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer | Goodreads
I cheated a bit on this one, I have to admit. I couldn’t choose between Cinder and Cress, I just love both women so much! The Lunar Chronicles is absolutely incredible, you definitely need to read this πŸ™‚

Penryn

Penryn & the End of Days trilogy by Susan Ee | Goodreads
I just had to have Penryn on my list! She needs to survive in this apocalyptic world where angels pretty much ruined the world. She takes care of both her little sister and her mother -who seriously terrifies me. She is incredibly brave and smart, I just love her!

Ismae Rienne

Grave Mercy (His Fair Assassin #1) by Robin LaFevers | Goodreads
As some of you may know, I absolutely love this trilogy. Out of all the three books though, Grave Mercy is by far my favorite -and Ismae is my favorite servant of St. Mortain.

Katarina -Kat- Bishop

Heist Society series by Ally Carter | Goodreads
Because I LOVE stories about thieves and cons, illusions and magicians, these books are right up my alley. And I adore Kat as a main character as well.

So this was my Top Ten Tuesday for this week. If you made one, feel free to leave a link in the comments below, I’d love to check it out! Do you agree with any of my choices?

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Favorite Heroines

  1. So glad that Celaena and Hermione are on your list as well! I feel like a lot of people chose them. Yay for Penryn! I completely forgot about including her but she’s a great pick =)

    Also, your post just reminded me of how much I really need to read Grave Mercy

    Like

Leave a Reply

