Top Ten Tuesday: For Readers Who Like Magic and Wizardry

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week, you make a list of ten books surrounding a certain topic. This week, I’m showing books I’d recommend to anyone who loves to read about magic and wizardry! I could probably make a list of 50 books to recommend in this aspect, but I HAD TO NARROW IT DOWN. And it wasn’t easy. At all. Let’s get into it!

The titles of the books will take you to their Goodreads page.

ttt10-3p1

The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling
I know. This is an extremely obvious choice. But it is the first book that comes to mind and that I would recommend, so I felt like I HAD to include it!
Eragon (The Inheritance Cycle #1) by Christopher Paolini
This is another one of my childhood favorites. I’ve been wanting to reread this for a while and I might do that soon. But this book got me into reading again when I’d stopped reading for a while when I was 12.
Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1) by Sarah J. Maas
Another obvious choice, yes. But guys, this series is SO good!
The Spirit Thief (The Legend of Eli Monpress #1) by Rachel Aaron
Okay, this series is so much fun! I read it in a month -there are 5 books in the series. If you know me, you know that’s quite the accomplishment because I usually don’t binge-read series.
The Final Empire (Mistborn #1) by Brandon Sanderson
I adored this book. I really should continue on with the series -and check out all of his other books. Why haven’t I?

ttt10-3p2

Eon (Eon #1) by Alison Goodman
I read this one quite a while ago, but it was such a good read. And it’s a duology!
The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1) by Maggie Stiefvater
I don’t really know how to describe these books. But if I had to choose one word, it would be magical.
Theft of Swords (Riyria Revelations #1-2) by Michael J. Sullivan
Magic isn’t the most prominent aspect of this book but it is included. And it’s such a good read so I really wanted to include it.
The Magicians’ Guild (Black Magician #1) by Trudi Canavan
Another great trilogy that I feel like isn’t mentioned enough. Guys, Trudi Canavan is a great writer!
The Paper Magician (Paper Magician #1) by Charlie N. Holmberg
I discovered this last year -thanks to Netgalley- but really enjoyed it! I especially loved the magic system, how every magician has their element.

So those are my Top Ten choices for this week! If you made a list, please leave a link down below, I’d love to check it out.

Have you read any of these books?

32 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: For Readers Who Like Magic and Wizardry

  1. I’ve just recently began craving fantasy, so I’m curious about all of these. Except ToG, I’ve read and loved it already.

    Like

  2. These are some great picks. I really, really need to read Throne of Glass. I cannot believe that my library doesn’t have a copy! I might break down and buy it since I have heard so many good things about it.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • Thank you! I don’t buy physical copies that often, but for that series I made an exception! If I could give you a tip: read the novellas first. They’re combined in the Assassin’s Blade and it’s one of my favorite books of the series.

      Like

  3. I’ve read Harry Potter (of course, I wouldn’t show my face if I hadn’t haha) but I haven’t read any of the others! I can’t wait to read Throne of Glass and Mistborn! I will check out the books I haven’t heard of πŸ˜€ thanks for the recs! x

    Like

    • Thank you! I’ve heard that many people -like me- really enjoyed it, but that others thought it was just “meh”. It is YA so it won’t be the same as adult fantasy, but I still liked it. I hope you will to πŸ˜€

      Like

  4. It’s worth continuing with Mistborn- the next two are very different but correct a lot of the problems I had with The Final Empire. Also, Vin only gets more badass!

    Like

  5. I love books with magic in them! I’m so glad to have seen your list.

    Of course I like Harry Potter; I also love Throne of Glass, The Raven Boys and The Final Empire. I haven’t read the rest in the Mistborn series either, but hopefully I’ll get to them soon.

    Great list!

    Like

    • Oh I know the feeling! I often anticipate a final book for months -to a year- and then when it finally comes out, I don’t read it for a while because that means it’s over… I would recommend Eona though, really enjoyed that duology! πŸ˜€

      Like

  6. I’ve read Harry Potter and Throne of Glass, but I haven’t read any of the other books on your list. I keep hearing good things about The Paper Magician! I should check it out! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I hope you’ll enjoy The Paper Magician too! I’ve seen a lot of people that really liked it -like I did- but others that thought it was just okay too. So I hope you’ll be in the first category πŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

