Personal Post #2: On Growing Up & Changing

Hi everyone! Today, I’m writing another personal post! The first one I did was on a trip I took to the Biesbosch in the Netherlands, which you can find here. Today’s topic is quite different though -which you already know because obviously you read the title first… Anyway, today I’m talking about my experience growing up and how I’ve noticed changes in myself over the past year or so. I’m sorry if this doesn’t interest you at all -which I can understand because this is a book blog. I hope you’ll give it a try though!

So, before you all ask, I’m currently 20 years old -and will be turning 21 in September. I know, most of you will be thinking that I am still growing up and into myself because I’m not even in the middle of my twenties yet. And yes, I agree with you! I will definitely still change over the next few years -and still at the age of 80- but over the past few months/year I have noticed changes in myself, so I feel like I CAN make this post!

1. Accepting who you are -and loving that person

Dramatic subtitle, I know. The first thing I’ve noticed over the past year is that I’m much more comfortable with who I am than before. Over the years, you learn more and more about yourself but I think especially in today’s society, it’s not ease to accept and love the person you are. Both physically and mentally!

I think I may make a discussion post just about this topic, because I have SO MUCH to say about it and I don’t want this post to be 4 pages long -which will probably still happen. I’ll try to keep it short in this post though, let me know if you’d like to read more about my opinions on this topic!

So here’s what I’ve learned in the past few years. I am an introvert and that’s okay! There is no need for me to pretend to be loud and extremely active and social all the time, because it’s simply not who I am. And the people I consider as true friends -and a bit like family- accept this. You don’t need to look like a Victoria’s Secret model to be beautiful. I’m happier with my appearance than I’ve ever been, I try to eat a bit healthier and do yoga -because it makes me feel good. NOT because I want to lose weight. Do what makes you feel good and it will show. That is beauty.

I know, you’re probably thinking “Jolien, I have heard this all before, it’s nothing new.” And you’re right, it isn’t. But it was hard for me to truly believe and accept.

By the way, I’m currently reading Quiet by Susan Cain and it has taught me so much about being an introvert. I’d highly recommend it. Or go watch her Ted Talk! Another person/channel that has helped me a lot in motivation and happiness is Cambria Joy’s YouTube channel, which I’ll link up for you here.

2. Changing dreams

Your dreams and goals in life change so much while you’re growing up. For example, I have always thought I wanted to live in an apartment in a big city. At this point in my life, I would want to live in a house close to the city -but NOT in it. I want some peace and green. Places to go for a walk and be in nature -for me, that’s quite the statement, because I used to hate going on walks in “nature”. Bugs, people, I hate bugs. Maybe that’s because I live in a big city now..

Same goes for job goals. Right now, I think that I’d either want to work in the publishing business or have a job in marketing/publicity. While the management part of my courses interests me to no end, I have no real desire to become a CEO. It makes me feel stressed out just thinking about it.

3. Tastes and characteristics

Yes, even these change! By tastes, I mean not only in fashion and design but also literally, in what I like to eat. I’ve been diversifying my eating habits and trying foods and products I either have never tried before or used to dislike. Like dates -which I now adore- and quinoa -so good with a tomato and tuna sauce. And fashion too! And lastly -at least for this post- is characteristics. I have grown into quite the organized person. I have spreadsheets on book-related things, on recipes that I like and a monthly budget. I have started using a little book where I note down pretty much everything. Quotes, lists of movies to see, to do lists, teas I like, etc. EVERYTHING. I have a highly organized mail inbox and Google calendar and I’m planning on buying myself an Erin Condren planner for next year.

So that was my second ever personal post. I’m sorry that it is SOOO long and if anyone made it to this line: THANK YOU. Let me know if you’d like to see a post entirely dedicated to any of these subjects, I’d love to write one.

A last request for you guys! Do you have any blogs, people or channels that make you feel motivated and happy -or that you just find helpful? Please link them down below, I’m always on the lookout for new ways to be more motivated and heel happier!

15 thoughts on “Personal Post #2: On Growing Up & Changing

  1. First of all, loved this post, it definitely takes a courage to write a personal post and open up to the whole world. Kudos!
    Secondly, OMG, I turn 21 in September as well, my birthday is the next day after ypurs! Don’t you love this small coincidences? I totally do.
    Also, I don’t feel ashamed to say that I’m an introvert as well. I just wish people left me alone sometimes and I could get lost in the world of books!
    And lastly, mind checking out my blog? I’m farely new to this thing. (And maybe a follow as well if you like it? Maybeee…)
    Hope you have a nice week. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you so much! 😀
      Really? So you’re birthdate would be September 26th, 1994? THAT’S CRAZY!
      I agree though about the introvert thing. I’m lucky to have a best friend and roommate who always seems to know when I want a bit of time to myself so I feel lucky about that. But most people don’t really understand.
      Of course! In fact, I already have 😀

      Like

      • YEP! That’s exactly the date. 😀
        You are definitely lucky, my mom understands but sometimes she wants to be social which I really hate sometimes.
        And THANK YOU!
        Also, pardon me for so many typos in my previous post.

        Like

  2. I always think that it takes a certain amount of bravery to write a personal post, so well done! (I feel a bit strange saying well done, but couldn’t quite think of another way to word it. My brain’s failing me today).

    I get the introvert thing, as I am also quite introverted. I think I’ve come to understand and except this about myself more over the years. It always annoys me when some people may see me as being anti-social sometimes, and not realise that I’m just quiet and don’t like large groups of people – I’m just being me and I don’t see the problem with that.

    I’ve wanted to cook quinoa for a while now, but not entirely sure how to cook it.

    This was a lovely post!

    Like

    • Thank you! It really annoys me too. People sometimes think I’m boring or anti-social and I’m really not, I just don’t like going out with big groups. It’s so close-minded… But there is nothing wrong with being introverted at all, so we shouldn’t feel bad -even if others try to make us feel that way. As for the quinoa, I always just rinse it really well and cook it for about 10 to 15 minutes in water with some bouillon 🙂

      Thank you so much! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s amazing how much you can change in just a few years time, and I recognise myself in a lot of the things you’ve said! There’s no need to pretend to be someone else around your friends – just be yourself, otherwise it’ll get really exhausting. I used to be really confused for a while because I had no clue who I was – kind of stuck between teenager and woman. I’d love to see more posts on your experiences!

    Like

    • I felt the same way! I feel like your twenties -and especially the beginning of it- can feel like a zone where you’re stuck between a teenager and a woman. Thank you! I was hesitating to write this at first because I wasn’t sure people would be interested in reading it. But now I think I’ll write them more often 😀

      Like

  4. Great post! I can really relate to your first point because I’m pretty introverted too. I guess I’m still trying to be more confident, outgoing and social but mostly because I don’t want to miss out on meeting really cool people. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

