Top Ten Tuesday: Recent Additions to my TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week, you make a list of ten books surrounding a certain topic. This week is all about the TBR! I’ll be showing you the 10 books I recently added to my to-read list on Goodreads!

ttt31-03p1

  1. The Shadow of the Torturer (Book of the New Sun #1) by Gene Wolfe
    It is the tale of young Severian, an apprentice in the Guild of Torturers on the world called Urth, exiled for committing the ultimate sin of his profession — showing mercy toward his victim — and follows his subsequent journey out of his home city of Nessus.
  2. Making Faces by Amy Harmon
    Making Faces is the story of a small town where five young men go off to war, and only one comes back. It is the story of loss. Collective loss, individual loss, loss of beauty, loss of life, loss of identity. It is the tale of one girl’s love for a broken boy, and a wounded warrior’s love for an unremarkable girl. This is a story of friendship that overcomes heartache, heroism that defies the common definitions, and a modern tale of Beauty and the Beast, where we discover that there is a little beauty and a little beast in all of us.
  3. Scoring Wilder by R.S. Grey
    This is basically about a girl who plays soccer and is training for the Olympics. And then there is Coach Wilder, who is strictly off limits. It just sounds like a fun and quick new adult.
  4. From Ashes (From Ashes #1) by Molly McAdams
    Another new adult read! I’m pretty sure it has a love triangle, so I’m still not 100% convinced on it. But it has a 4.16 average rating on Goodreads and about 22.000 ratings, so I’m assuming a lot of people really liked it. I’m curious!
  5. The One Thing by Marci Lyn Curtis
    Maggie Sanders might be blind, but she won’t invite anyone to her pity party. Ever since losing her sight six months ago, Maggie’s rebellious streak has taken on a life of its own, culminating with an elaborate school prank. Maggie called it genius. The judge called it illegal.

ttt31-03p2

  1. Very Good Lives by J.K. Rowling
    It’s basically a book full of advice from J.K. Rowling… HELLO, I NEED THIS.
  2. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
    I’m pretty sure you all know what this book is about. I’m excited to read it!
  3. Boys Like You by Juliana Stone
    For Monroe Blackwell, one small mistake has torn her family apart–leaving her empty and broken. There’s a hole in her heart that nothing can fill. That no one can fill. And a summer in Louisiana with her grandma isn’t going to change that… Nathan Everets knows heartache firsthand when a car accident leaves his best friend in a coma. And it’s all his fault. He should be the one lying in the hospital. The one who will never play guitar again. He doesn’t deserve forgiveness, and a court-appointed job at the Blackwell B&B isn’t going to change that…
  4. The Girl at Midnight (The Girl at Midnight #1) by Melissa Grey
    Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she’s ever known.
  5. Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander #2) by Diana Gabaldon
    The sequel to Outlander! I recently finished Outlander and really loved it, so I immediately added the second book to my to-read list.

So those are the books I recently added to my to-read list on Goodreads! Have you read any of these? Share your thoughts on them -without spoiling the book though…

If you made a Top Ten Tuesday list, feel free to leave your link in the comments! I’m always on the hunt for new additions to my TBR.
25 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Recent Additions to my TBR

  1. AHA! I was going to say this is another TTT where I know NONE of the books, but Boys Like You!! I’ve read and LOVED Boys Like You. It was one of my favourite books of 2014. I don’t know if it’ll be a 5 star read for everyone, it really resonated with me when I read it though. And the old hardback cover is much more delicious!! As for that JK Rowling book. WUT?! I didn’t know it existed! Excellent find! Thanks!! Did you ever see/read her speech at Harvard, I think that’s where it was? R x

    My TTT: https://confessionsofabookgeek.wordpress.com/2015/03/31/top-ten-tuesday-books-ive-recently-added-to-my-tbr/

    Like

    • I’m really excited for Boys Like You! It sounds like a good read 🙂
      I also just found out about the J.K. Rowling book, so I had to include it! I’ve never seen or read her speech but it is included in the book I think.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So glad you enjoyed Outlander. Hope you continue to enjoy it.
    I’ve been watching the tv series and I think they’ve done a really good job of adapting it.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

  3. I just put my preorder in for An Ember in the Ashes and now I’m just counting down the days till it’s on my doorstep! I got to read that little preview that’s been handed out at some bookstores and I NEED IT NOW

    Like

  4. Dragonfly in Amber and I did not get along, which makes me sad because Outlander was awesome. Good luck! I think I need to read the rest via audiobook.

    Like

  5. I want to read Very Good Lives too! A must have in my opinion haha 🙂 I haven’t started the Outlander series yet D; but I will! I keep seeing adverts for the TV series as well so I feel like thats a hint too! Thank you for sharing these Jolien 🙂 Here’s my TTT @ Emma’s Bookery if you would like to check it out 🙂

    Like

    • I agree! I hope it will be just as epic as I think it will be. I just read Outlander, I’d really recommend it. And the series is great too, very true to the story -even using the exact same lines. Thank you so much 😀

      Like

  6. I’ve heard some interesting things about Making Faces. I’m all for emotional reads. 🙂 (Hopefully it ends in a happily ever after, though!)

    I’m excited for An Ember in the Ashes, too! I love the cover, and the bookish community has been buzzing about this for forever.

    I think I added Boys Like You to my TBR ages ago when it wasn’t even released yet. Not a fan of the cover change, but I do need to get to this book soon!

    I need to read The Girl at Midnight! So jealous of early reviewers because this looks gorgeous and I’m hoping the story is, too!

    Aimee @ Deadly Darlings

    Like

    • Me too! I love new adult, and I’ve heard such good things about it so I feel like it’s become a must-read for me. I’m so excited about all of them -and definitely jealous of early reviewers of all of the books I mentioned… Can’t wait to read them!

      Like

Leave a Reply

