DNF Review: The Clique by Valerie Thomas

the cliqueTitle: The Clique
Author: Valerie Thomas
Published: October 31st, 2014
Genre: Young adult, realistic fiction (?)

Goodreads

I received this book from the publisher, via Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review. This doesn’t influence my opinion in any way.

Synopsis: The Clique is the story of Audrey Hughes, and the attempt of a boy to win her over by bringing her down. Manipulating her friends, poisoning her relationships, and tearing at her family; Devon will stop at nothing to get what he wants. But Audrey isn’t so easily ruined. She fights for her friends, pulling closer even when they would push her away.

Review

This was one of the first books I got from Netgalley, and I’ve waited a long time before reading it. Maybe I had a premonition? I don’t know. I don’t really like to DNF a book because it makes me feel like a quitter. And who wants that? But I just couldn’t go further with this one. 

I stopped reading at about 25%. So no, I didn’t make it very far. From the very beginning, I knew I would dislike the characters. In the first chapters, you meet all of the girls in their clique so you’d think they are all friends. But one called the other slutty behind her back, and they all have quite bitchy thoughts about each other. THESE PEOPLE ARE NOT FRIENDS. At that point, I was already hoping for a big character development from the beginning, because I knew I wouldn’t be able to continue like that.

Unfortunately, that didn’t happen. All of the girls think of one of their friends as slutty, Aude and her boyfriend acted so immature they were thrown out of a restaurant, one guy is dating someone even though he has a crush on someone else, Aude is dating even though she thinks of dating in high school as just finding a person you like enough. To be honest, I thought these people were the annoying stereotype of teenagers. They felt back-stabbing, rude and immature –and yes, I know that technically they are teenagers but still.

I feel like this book is mainly based on characters, and because I didn’t like those, this book just wasn’t for me. If you like the description, I’d say give it a try. Maybe you will enjoy it! It just wasn’t a book for me.

As I didn’t actually finish this book, I didn’t give it a rating. I also didn’t count it for my 2015 reading challenges.

4 thoughts on “DNF Review: The Clique by Valerie Thomas

  1. Ugh, slut shaming is so wrong. I HATE this. I don’t know if I could read a book like this. I’m always interested in reading from the villain but this book reminds me of the book “Stella” by Helen Eve. I didn’t like that one too much either because EVERYONE is so fake and I have to deal with those people IRL, i don’t want it in the books I read.

    Like

  2. Sorry you didn’t like this, Jolien! I also hate books where characters pretend to be friends with each other but then actually call each other names and aren’t genuine. I’ll definitely be giving this one a miss. Fabulous review! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

