Top Ten Tuesday: 10 of my favorite quotes

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today, I will show you 10 of my favorite quotes! The topic name was actually inspiring quotes, but I decided to just show you some of my favorite quotes, in general. The titles will lead you to their Goodreads pages, as always. Let’s get into it!

the two towers

The Two Towers (The Lord of the Rings #2) by J.R.R. Tolkien

Where now are the Dunedain, Elessar, Elessar?
Where do thy kinsfolk wander afar?
Near is the hour when the lost should come forth,
And the Grey Company ride from the North.
But dark is the path appointed to thee:
The Dead watch the road that leads to the Sea.
– Galadriel’s message to Aragorn

The Fellowship of the Ring (The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkienthe fellowship of the ring

All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost.
From the ashes a fire shall be woken,
A light from the shadows shall spring;
Renewed shall be blade that was broken,
The crownless again shall be king.
– Bilbo’s poem on Aragorn

the lies of locke lamora

The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastard #1) by Scott Lynch

“… It’s perfect! Locke would appreciate it.” “Bug,” Calo said, “Locke is our brother and our love for him knows no bounds. But the four most fatal words in the Therin language are ‘Locke would appreciate it.'” “Rivalled only by ‘Locke taught me a new trick,'” added Galo.
“The only person who gets away with Locke Lamora games …” “… is Locke …” “… because we think the gods are saving him up for a really big death. Something with knives and hot irons …” “… and fifty thousand cheering spectators.”

And obviously I can’t forget this one:

So that makes us robbers of robbers,” said Bug, “who pretend to be robbers working for a robber of other robbers.

A Game of Thrones (Song of Ice and Fire #1) by George R.R. Martin a game of thrones

When the snows fall and the white winds blow, the lone wolf dies but the pack survives.

murder of crows

Murder of Crows (The Others #2) by Anne Bishop

Okay. I picked up a movie to watch tonight. You can watch it with me if you like. It’s a chick movie. Merri Lee said that means girls like it, not that there are small birds in it.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (HP #7) by J.K. Rowling harry potter 7

“Death’s got an Invisibility Cloak?” Harry interrupted again.
“So he can sneak up on people,” said Ron. “Sometimes he gets bored of running at them, flapping his arms and shrieking…”

I have so many favorite quotes from this series, but today I decided to go for this one. I don’t know, it just makes me laugh every time!

brisingr

Brisingr (The Inheritance Cycle #3) by Christopher Paolini

“Perhaps not one religion contains all of the truth of the world. Perhaps every religion contains fragments of the truth, and it is our responsibility to identify those fragments and piece them together.”

Theft of Swords (Riyria Revelations #1-2) by Michael J. Sullivan s-typeopts13

“It was a trap after all,” Alric said. He turned to Royce. “My apologies for doubting your sound paranoia.”

the song of achilles

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

“I could recognize him by touch alone, by smell; I would know him blind, by the way his breaths came and his feet struck the earth. I would know him in death, at the end of the world.”

So those are some of my favorite quotes! If you want to see more of them, you can always find some on my Goodreads page. .

Have you made a TTT? Feel free to link yours in the comments 🙂

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 of my favorite quotes

  1. That is an awesome Harry Potter quote. It cracks me up. 🙂
    I also love the Fellowship of the Ring one. I knew that poem even before I read the book.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

