My Favorite Male Main Characters

Hi everyone! I was thinking on some posts I could schedule for this week, because I won’t be able to write any on vacation and I thought about this one. My favorite male main characters. I have to tell you, when I was going through my “read” shelf, I was surprised how little male main characters there were. I mean, it’s not like I haven’t read any but still, the ratio is definitely not in balance. So if any of you have recommendations on books with male main characters, please let me know!

The titles will take you to their Goodreads page.

male mc

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Harry Potter #1) by J.K. Rowling – Harry Potter
This pretty much goes without saying. I love Harry Potter. I wish I could read thousand more books about him but alas, that will probably never happen.

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson & the Olympians #1) by Rick Riordan Percy Jackson & Nico di Angelo
Again, Percy is quite an obvious choice. But I decided to include Nico as well even though he only appears in the later books. Nico’s character develops so beautifully. Aaah, I just love that kid.

Eragon (The Inheritance Cycle #1) by Christopher PaoliniEragon & Brom
I couldn’t choose here, and decided to include Brom even though he isn’t really a main character. In the beginning, Eragon is still very much a teenager/child, but his growth is immense. Much of that is tanks to the ever so grumpy Brom.

The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastard #1) by Scott Lynch Locke Lamora
Locke Lamora impresses me. His schemes know no bounds or limits -and he cares for his friends like no other. BUT THE SCHEMES PEOPLE.

The Final Empire (Mistborn #1) by Brandon SandersonKelsier
Kelsier is pretty much one of the best parts of this book.

The Spirit Thief (Legend of Eli Monpress #1) by Rachel AaronEli Monpress
Eli Monpress is probably one of my favorite fantasy characters ever. A wizard, a thief, a hilarious character.

I Hunt Killers (Jasper Dent #1) by Barry Lyga Jasper Dent
Jasper is very different from the other main characters here, but the peeks inside his mind are so disturbing, but very fascinating.

The Song of Achilles by Madeline MillerPatroclus
This story was heartbreaking. But it really gave me an insight into Patroclus that I had never had before!

A Darker Shade of Magic (A Darker Shade of Magic #1) by V.E. SchwabKell
I’m going to keep throwing this book at every single one of you, because it is amazing -and so is Kell.

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire SΓ‘enzDante
While I loved Ari, Dante was my favorite guy in this novel. You really have to read it -and his family is incredible too.

Winger (Winger #1) by Andrew SmithRyan Dean West
Another must read! Ryan’s sense of humor is very strange, but I loved every bit of it.

Theft of Swords (Riyria Revelations #1-2) by Michael J. SullivanHadrian Blackwater and Royce Melborn
I really couldn’t leave these two out. They each have characteristics that make them so interesting, and while they are very different from each other they work well together -literally.


So, I drew some daunting conclusions from my list. I plan on making a discussion post -maybe tomorrow- on what I discovered, namely the lack of male MC in my reading and fantasy. I hope you’ll be interested in reading that!

Who are your favorite male main characters?

14 thoughts on “My Favorite Male Main Characters

  1. Wow, I looked through mine and found very little female protagonists, making me make a new bookshelf only for books with female protagonists. I would recommend ‘Room’ by Emma Donoghue. The main character is a boy of five years old, and it’s one of the best books I’ve ever read!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love Percy! I also noticed recently that especially within YA, there aren’t many male POVs or authors. They are all mostly love interests for the girls. I really liked Q in Paper Towns and Adam in If I Stay, but those are just some of my recent reads from contemporary.

    Like

  3. Off the top of my head Tyrion Lannister from ASOIAF comes to mind. He’s also my favorite overall character in that series. Despite absolutely daunting odds, he does everything he can to remain a good person in a world where being decent will get you killed. While we could argue about some of his actions being less than stellar, it’s hard to ignore the reasoning behind everything he’s ever done and what pushed him in that direction.

    Like

  4. This is interesting. I haven’t read many books with lead male characters either, but not intentionally. I just read whatever interests me. But as for favourites; I rarely connect with characters or have favourites, but when I do, I seem to be able to relate more to male characters than female.

    Recently I read Steelheart and I loved David (he starts off ok, but at the end you just love him), I also like Ronan and Gansey from The Raven Boys. Froi is great from Froi of the Exiles (the second book in the lumatere chronicles).

    All great books btw, I recommend if u haven’t read them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

