Discussion: Male Main Characters

Yesterday, I wrote a post about my favorite male main characters. While I was looking through my “read” shelf on Goodreads, I couldn’t help but notice two things. So I thought that today, I would talk about it with you!

Discovery #1: I haven’t read many books through a male POV

I’m not saying that I haven’t read any -otherwise how would I have made a list yesterday?- but compared to the amount of books from a female point of view, it seems insignificant. I know that I would relate a bit more to a female main character because I am a woman myself, but that doesn’t mean that I am not interested in reading from a guy’s view.

I have been trying to read a bit more diverse in the past few months and have read some great books with diverse characters, like None of the Above which has an intersex main character, or books about an LGBT character, or a character with a different ethnicity. It’s definitely important to not only write more books like this, but it is essential as well for us to read them. Would a male point of view be considered as diverse as well? From what I’ve seen on my read shelf, to me it should… Because apparently, most of the books I read are about white females.

Do you have the same problem on your read shelf? How do you feel about this? And do you have any recommendations of books with male main characters?Β 

Discovery #2: the relationship between fantasy and a male POV

When I do look at all the books I have read with a male main character, almost all of them are fantasy! Now, I am not saying that there aren’t any kick-ass women in fantasy. I mean, look at Throne of Glass, Mistborn and so on. There are definitely some great fantasy books about women. What I am trying to say, is that fantasy is the most prominent genre in which I have found male POVs. So my question is: why have I read barely anything with a male MC that isn’t fantasy? I can think of Winger and I Hunt Killers at the moment, but most of the others are fantasy.Β 

Maybe I just haven’t read those other books in the different genres? I don’t know. Have you noticed this? And/or could you recommend me a book with a male main character that isn’t fantasy?

11 thoughts on “Discussion: Male Main Characters

  1. Yea, I agree with this overall — the male POV I’ve read has been mostly sff books, or more traditional literary fiction. I think it is because the books are geared more to men, while YA, romance, contemp fiction is geared more to women. I’m not saying that this is the right thing to do, but I think it is the way publishers think.

    Like

  2. I’m gonna go ahead and say ‘Room’ again! Seriously, it’s really good, and not fantasy at all. “I am the Messenger” by Markus Zusak(The Book Thief) is good too! (I have a review on my blog.) “The Perks of Being a Wallflower” of course, and “Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close”. Tell me if you like sci-fi, and I’ll give you a whole list xD

    Like

  3. I definitely have more female POVs, but it’s not like I avoid male POVs. It doesn’t really matter to me, I’m perfectly fine with it. In fact, one of my favorite series is from a male POV and wrote by a male author. The Iron Druid series is awesome!

    Like

  4. I have now figured out that have the same problem! I also read mostly female authors as well, which I think it mostly because young adult authors are typically female. I wish that I could read more contemporaries with male perspectives, although some romances have split perspectives.

    Like

  5. I can’t think of as many books – that aren’t fantasy – featuring male main characters, either. Paper Towns is mainly from a male POV and that’s Contemporary, so that’s one book. Also, have you read Wonder? It’s a MG book, and is really beautifully done. I really love the Paladin Prophecy series – I’d say it has more Sci-Fi elements than it does Fantasy.

    Interesting post! πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. You’ve raised some pretty interesting questions for discussion. Like you, the majority of the books I’ve read are pretty much female-led. I think there’s a lack of male authors in the YA genre. Where are they? Well, they’re over in the adult fiction section. Not that it’s a bad thing though.

    You also mentioned fantasy and male POVs! Now that I think about it, it does ring quite true. And I don’t have an explanation for that haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

