Top Ten Tuesday: My Favorite Authors

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Every week, you make a list of ten books surrounding a certain topic. This week I’m talking about my favorite authors. Now, I know you can really only call an author a true favorite if you’ve read a certain amount of books by them. But today, I won’t take that into account! Even if I’ve read only one book by this author, I will base this solely on the writing style of that book and how much I enjoyed it.

The titles will lead you to their Goodreads pages.

harry potter 7

Author #1: J.K. Rowling
Books read by her: Harry Potter series,
The Cuckoo’s Calling
Amount of books read by author: 8

My first choice had to be J.K. Rowling. Obvious as it is, it could not be more true. I know that pretty much everyone will include her on their list, but it just didn’t feel right to leave her out. The Harry Potter series were some of the first real novels I ever read, and they shaped my childhood.

   

Author #2: Rick Riordan percy jackson 1
Books read by him: Percy Jackson & the Olympians series, Heroes of Olympus series, the Kane Chronicles, Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods, The Demigod Files
Amount of books read by author: 16

Again an obvious choice, but a necessary one. Rick Riordan’s books are funny, witty, full of fantasy and magical wonderfulness and I wish I could live in them. I love his characters as well. Can’t wait for the new Magnus Chase series!

throne of glass

Author #3: Sarah J. Maas
Books read by hear: Throne of Glass series

Amount of books read by author: 4

I had to include Sarah J. Maas! I’ve read her three main books in the Throne of Glass series already released and The Assassin’s Blade, which includes all of the novellas. Her writing and the world and characters she has created just captivate me.

 

Author #4: George R.R. Martin a game of thrones
Books read by author: A Song of Ice and Fire series
Amount of books read by author: 5

Another obvious choice, sorry! But you can’t overlook what he has created. Somehow, his characters invoke the most powerful emotions in you -whether that is hate or love. And you never know what will happen -or who will die next. 

The only downside would be that it is TAKING HIM FOREVER to write the next book.

written in red

Author #5: Anne Bishop
Books read by author: the Others series

Amount of books read by author: 3

I have talked about this series so much that I’m pretty sure I’ve bored you all already. Yet I’m saying it again! Please give this series a chance, it is so good. I love the writing style, the characters and the crazy situations they end up in. What I love most is that the Others in this book also feel non-human in the way they think. When you follow their thoughts you can really feel that they aren’t human -which seems normal but that usually doesn’t happen.

Author #6: Madeline Miller the song of achilles
Book read by author: The Song of Achilles
Amount of books read by author: 1

Yup, I have only read one book by Madeline Miller. But it was such a genius piece of work, that it had to be included in my all-time favorites. It followed a story I was already quite familiar with, the life of Achilles, but from a different perspective. I LOVED IT.

 

the spirit thief

Author #7: Rachel Aaron
Books read by author: The Legend of Eli Monpress series

Amount of books read by author: 5

Here’s something you should know about me: I have some trouble finishing series. I pick one up, really enjoy it but usually don’t feel like reading the next one immediately. But in this series, I read all 5 books in one month! I loved Rachel Aaron’s imagination, her characters and the writing. Really recommend this! I definitely want to read her other series.

 

Author #8: Maggie Stiefvater the raven boys
Books read by author: The Raven Cycle
Amount of books read by author: 3

Aaaand I’m back with another obvious choice. But you understand, I had to! There’s just something so magical about her writing in the Raven Cycle. It’s just gorgeous. I really need to read more of her books, any suggestions?

 

the magician's guild

Author #9: Trudi Canavan
Books read by author: The Black Magician Trilogy

Amount of books read by author: 3

I immensely loved the Black Magician trilogy! I think I read one of her other series -Age of the Five- when I was quite young but I didn’t count them because I honestly can only remember a vague synopsis -sue me, it’s been over 8 years or so. But I would highly recommend her books, I feel like she is a very underrated author!

 

Author #10: Juliet Marillier daughter of the forest
Books read by author: Wildwood duology, the Bridei Chronicles #1, Sevenwaters #1-2

Amount of books read by author: 5

This was my childhood gateway into fantasy! I I loved all of the books I’ve read by her but somehow never finished the latter two. I really want to start over with the Bridei Chronicles. Again, an underrated author/underrated books in my opinion.

 

So those are my favorite authors – I think. I could probably make a list of 25 and still miss out on some. Honorable mentions go to Jennifer L. Armentrout/J. Lynn, Colleen Hoover, Brandon Sanderson -I’ve only read 1 book by him- Dirk Bracke, Sophie Kinsella and so on. STOP ME OR I WILL GO ON FOREVER.

Did you make a list of favorite authors? Feel free to leave a link down below!

26 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Favorite Authors

  1. This is a great list – I’m currently reading a Maas book and it’s strangely addictive. Plus I’ve recently read a Juliet Marillier book which I loved. Can’t wait to read more of hers.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

  2. I need to read The Raven Boys! That author is haunting me haha 🙂 Great to see Rowling make your list too, some of my favourite authors here 🙂 Here’s my TTT if you would like to check it out 🙂 Have a great day!

    Like

  3. JK Rowling was on my list, and I thought about including GRRM — I love his books, but since it’s been years since his last one and will probably be years until the next, I figured I’d include him another time. 🙂 Great list!

    Like

  4. Juliet Marillier. 😀 She’s on my list too and I need to read more of her books. I just have the Sevenwaters series under my belt. I wonder if you’d like Anne Bishop’s Black Jewels series. I didn’t care for The Others, but did like Black Jewels. Similar writing style but a bit darker, honestly.

    Like

  5. It’s such a difficult list to make, and I know what you mean about feeling like some of the choices are obvious, but they’re obvious because they’re so good in the first place. It’s nice to see some love for Trudi Canavan. Have you read the other stories set in the same universe as The Black Magicians trilogy? They’re really good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

