Top Ten Tuesday: Characters Whose Friendships Are More Like Family

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week I will make a list of 10 books, authors or other bookish things surrounding a certain topic. Today, I will show you 10 characters who have such close friendships that it’s more like a family. Not all family is blood, you know? I know the title is really confusing, I’m so sorry. But I hope you all understand what I mean.

The titles will provide you with a link to their Goodreads page.

percy jackson 1

#1: Percy Jackson, Annabeth Chase and Grover
Book #1: The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson & the Olympians #1) by Rick Riordan

This is one of the first books that comes to mind when I think of extraordinary friendships. These three get into the worst situations possible but they are always there to try and help each other out. And their conversations are so witty, I can’t even handle them.

         

#2: Harry Potter, Hermione Granger and Ron Weasley harry potter 6
Book #1: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (Harry Potter #1) by J.K. Rowling

Again, I’m getting the obvious choices out of the way first. But how could I leave this one out? These three are the definition of a friendship turned family. I grew up reading Harry Potter -as so many of you probably did- and they truly shaped my idea of friendship, morality and so on.

 

the fellowship of the ring

#3: The Fellowship
Book #1: The Fellowship of the Ring (Lord of the Rings #1) by J.R.R. Tolkien

Yes, I am comparing the fellowship to a family. Hey, you don’t have to like every family member to be part of the same family, right? Looking at you Boromir… Again, an obvious choice, sorry.

 

 
 

#4: Eli Monpress, Josef Liechten and Nico the spirit thief
Book #1: The Spirit Thief (Legend of Eli Monpress #1) by Rachel Aaron

I’m sensing a fantasy theme in this TTT… I read this series last year in December -all 5 books- and since then, I haven’t been able to stop talking about it. I really enjoy the friendship of these 3. Sometimes they fight -which is normal- and seem like they only travel together for a common purpose but I feel like that’s just deception. They truly care for one another -even if they don’t like to admit it.

 

the lies of locke lamora

#5: The Gentleman Bastards
Book #1:
The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastard #1) by Scott Lynch

Yet another fantasy choice. Are my reading tastes that obvious? Anyway… The Gentleman Bastards… How I adore them. They truly recognize one another as family! They con together and work in perfect teams. Their conversations are witty and they often make fun of each other. I truly love this team of thieves!

 

#6: Meg Corbyn and her pack -both human and well, non-human written in red
Book #1: Written in Red (The Others #1) by Anne Bishop

Yes, I’m talking about this series again. And no, I don’t want to apologize for it. During the course of these books, Meg truly creates a strong bond with the people she meets in the courtyard. She has a human pack -which let’s be honest is awesome- and a whole bunch of Others who care for her. I ADORE IT. 

 

heist society

#7: Kat and her crew
Book #1: Heist Society (Heist Society #1) by Ally Carter

I know that part of her crew technically IS her family. But we’re overlooking that little detail for now! Again, an amazing group of friends who con and steal together. Aaah, how I wish it was me. Although I would probably be the worst thief on the planet -I’m a very clumsy person… 

 
 

#8: Hadrian Blackwater and Royce Melborn s-typeopts13
Book #1: Theft of Swords (Riyria Revelations #1-2) by Michael J. Sullivan

I read Theft of Swords not that long ago and highly enjoyed it. The main reason for that is the friendship between Hadrian and Royce. Their witty banter is incredible! I do feel like their friendship is clouded in mystery and I’m excited to read the next books in the series and find out more about them.

 

the final empire

#9: Vin, Kelsier and their crew
Book #1: The Final Empire (Mistborn #1) by Brandon Sanderson

It’s been a while since I read this book -and for some reason I haven’t continued on yet- but I remember this crew so well. For some reason, a lot of these close friendships are thieving crews. Does crime make your friendship closer? We must investigate! Anyway, these characters are all unique and different but they complement each other so well.

 

#10: Rob and his Merry Men  ScarletUS.indd
Book #1: Scarlet (Scarlet #1) by A.C. Gaughen

In a “friendships like family” list, there has to be at least one version of Robin Hood and his Merry Men. This book is an absolutely amazing twist on the story but the main friendship stays the same. Worth its weight in gold.

What do you think of my choices? If you’ve made a TTT, feel free to leave a link to it in the comments!

35 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Characters Whose Friendships Are More Like Family

  1. Aww I LOVE this list! This is a really fabulous topic choice, I love a book where the friendships are so strong they seem like family. Also, it seems like I have some reading to do, as I haven’t read many of these!

    Like

  2. You and I were thinking alike this week, that’s awesome. I just bought Mistborn this month, I’m so excited to start it! I really enjoyed Heist Society too. I think if I were a criminal, I’d be an art thief. Not that I think about such things, but you know, I’ve thought about it a little…

    Like

  3. Theft of Swords! Yay! It’s so hard to find anyone that has read this series and I totally love it. You’ve got so much fun ahead of you with Royce and Hadrian because their friendship is just awesome. *Ahem* Anyway, I’ve read most of these books: all except Heist Society, (which I’ll be reading next month) Written in Red and Scarlet – both of which I’ll be heading of to look into now. Love your topic for this week.

    My TTT

    Like

    • Thank you! I hope you’ll enjoy Written in Red and Scarlet too -and Heist Society of course. I’m so excited to continue with the Riyria Revelations, I just bought the remaining books this month 😀

      Like

  4. What a lovely choice of topic! 🙂 I love reading about close friendships; as the saying goes, friends are the family you choose. The Fellowship and Harry Potter are a great choice, and a lot of the other books on your list are on my TBR. ^_^

    Like

Leave a Reply

