Friday Reads, May 15th

It’s weekend again so it’s time for another Friday Reads post to show you what I’ll be reading during the weekend. It’s the first weekend in a while where I won’t have to include The Night Circus because I FINALLY finished it! Hooray for me. I’m really in a reading mood so I’m hoping to finish some of these books this weekend, while writing two papers for school as well. I CAN DO THIS. 

The titles will take you to their Goodreads page.

daredevil vol 1 a stolen life Uprooted

I did a thing. I am reading three books at a time, which I don’t often do as it slows down my reading pace. But I have my reasons for picking up all of these, and they are all so different it’s not confusing at all anymore.

The first book I’m currently reading is Daredevil Vol. 1 by Kevin Smith. I knew that Netflix made Daredevil into a TV show, and I wanted to read the first volume before I started watching. To be honest, I think I may have made a mistake. I’m not enjoying the graphic novel very much and really have to force myself to start reading again -it’s such a thick volume! 

I’m also listening to the audiobook of A Stolen Life – A Memoir by Jaycee Dugard. I think this audiobook is about 7 to 8 hours, and I have less than one hour to go. I’m quite proud of myself because it hasn’t taken me forever to -almost- finish this one. I can’t really say I’m enjoying the read as it’s such a terrible topic but I am. It’s really interesting, even though it is horrible. 

And the last one I’m currently reading is an actual novel, Uprooted by Naomi Novik. I’ve been hearing such amazing things about this book in the last week or so on some of the book blogs I follow and I knew I wanted to read it too. I was so happy when I got approved on Netgalley, I started reading the same night. I already know I’ll be buying this beautiful cover for my shelf later, as I’m only halfway through and already in love with it.

What are you currently reading?

6 thoughts on “Friday Reads, May 15th

  1. I don’t really know anything about superhero comics but I think the most well-respected Daredevil comic is Daredevil: Born Again which is written by Frank Miller (the guy who did Sin City, The Dark Knight Returns and a few others), so maybe you might want to start there. That being said, I haven’t read it so I can’t vouch for its quality.

    I’m really interested in the Naomi Novik book. I read Temeraire around a year ago and really loved it and, although I haven’t read its sequels yet, I’ve always wanted to read more by her. I don’t know too much about Uprooted but I’ll definitely check it out seeing as its getting so much praise.

    Like

    • I really want to read Temeraire as well! That’s actually how I first heard about her writing, but I never actually picked up the book. I’m almost done with Uprooted, and really liked it so far! So for now, it’s definitely a recommend.

      Like

  2. Ooh, Uprooted sounds so amazing! Everyone I’ve heard talking about it loves it. (And I really, really want it.) Anyway, that’s a very cool cover. Different than what I usually see but I like both covers so much.

    Like

  3. Ooh, I’m so tempted to request Uprooted! IT LOOKS GORGEOUS. And sadness that Daredevil isn’t doing it for you. 😦 I haven’t tried it yet, but I just read my first Deadpool novel and ZOMG SO HILARIOUS. Definitely a favourite and I’m suddenly fantastically excited for the movie. Whenever that comes out. hehe.

    Like

    • GO FORTH AND REQUEST! I mean, not that I’m obliging you or something…

      I’m sad too 😦 I will try to finish it and maybe watch the show -maybe I’ll like that one more? I haven’t read an Deadpool things, will definitely check that out! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

